German-Style Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
No flavor after sitting the fridge overnite. The only thing I could taste was the carrawy seeds. I'll look further for another recipe. Had to try it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Some recipes don't have u remove the skin. I appeciate u telling us do so, since fresh beets are new in my meal menus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because of all the modifications. I did what others suggested and only used 1/2 the carraway. I also added the dill, a fresh mandarin orange and a little more horseradish. I also used beets that I had bought at Trader Joe's. They come pre-cooked and are found near the salad in plastic with a box around it. I used 1 1/2 packages. So much easier than cooking the beets. I had a couple people comment on the dish that they were surprised that they liked it as well. Not everybody is a beet person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slmcm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
The simplest way to improve the recipe is to reduce the oil. I only put in a tablespoon or two, and it was fine. And think of the reduction in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
We found this recipe to be surprisingly bland as prepared. I did use raw, grated beets instead of cooked, but that affects only the texture, not the flavor. Maybe I had bigger bunches of beets, because the dressing didn't give it enough flavor. Next time, I'll double the dressing and use more horseradish. I added blue cheese and raisins to the leftovers, and that turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Nice recipe! I brought this to a german group meeting and one of the members said it tasted just like her german grandmother's beets. I added some larger strips of onion for visual variation because when I was all done making it, it looked like just beets and nothing special. The onion slices let people know that there's more to it, so that they expect more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Delightful change of pace. I preferred using 1/2 the amount of caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I would have rated this 5 stars except for a couple of small quibbles. The recipe gives no estimated time as to how long to cook the beets. 5 minutes? 20 minutes? 1 hour? This may be confusing for novice cooks. Also 2 tablespoons of caraway seeds is way too much. I used 2 teaspoons and it was perfect. Otherwise, these were delicious. I added some dill and a can of mandarin oranges to the salad as recommened by other reviewers. Also I added more horseradish because 1 teaspoon didn't give it the kick I was looking for. My husband and I enjoyed this very much. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Interesting idea for beets..it was decent, but I'd make a few changes next time. I read the previous review that said there was too much caraway and thought "Impossible! I love caraway", but it turns out they were right! There's so much caraway that it crunches when you eat the beets. I wonder if it's supposed to be 2 teaspoons? I'll try that next time, and also cut back or eliminate the oil. I also might try adding orange sections and dill, as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This started out to be just a way to use up some beets, after finding it I buy them all the time. I add fresh orange segments and it is the greatest thing around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States