German-Style Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This "German-Style Beet Salad" is wonderfully delicious! I have to admit though that beets are one of my favorite foods. This was a good, easy, and convenient way to serve them. I had no idea how much "2 bunches of beets" was supposed to be, so I added the caraway seed slowly as suggested by other reviewers to make sure that I did not have too much for the amount of beets that I was using. The next time that I make this salad I will use a sweet onion (or perhaps leave the onion out), and I will definitely be making this again. Thank you CHRISTYJ for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was a great recipe! Next time I will use less caraway seeds, as they were a little overwhelming. I couldn't get enough of it even as written. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This started out to be just a way to use up some beets, after finding it I buy them all the time. I add fresh orange segments and it is the greatest thing around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staci mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Hey, all you newcomers to beets. Please consider what you are working with. Beets...misunderstood & underused. first...I take the time to bake them. (wash them-just get the dirt off) cut off the greens, then remove the vein with scissors. save for later...delicious. 2nd double wrap in foil, bake in a 300 degree oven for 2 hours. cook slower for a longer time. You want them to develop the & draw out the sugar (Heard of sugar beets?) let them cool. remove foil and rub the skin off..put your hands in a plastic bag, use an old washcloth-(you will discard this cloth). I taste them. if they need sweetness I may add brown sugar, raw sugar or honey. Once you have baked your beets, you will never boil them again..use the skin in your compost, or worms or dig a small hole and put them in your garden. The beets at Traider Joes are as awful as December tomatoes. speaking of which, when I need tomatoes for a sandwich in winter, I use canned, drained and blotted dry. They slice well. No one will notice if you have added crisp lettuce and some bacon...a BLT... Try the slow, long cooking for sweet potatoes... but those skins go to me, I just love them baked and caramelized. The worms fend for themselves. It's an acquired taste. experiment, explore and have fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilona

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northridge, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
This recipe is great! I used only 1 tbsp of Caraway seeds instead of 2 and I added a bit of fresh dill, but mostly I followed the recipe. It was very great the 1st night, but was even better 2 days later! It definately reminds me of the flavors of my German grandmother's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Nice recipe! I brought this to a german group meeting and one of the members said it tasted just like her german grandmother's beets. I added some larger strips of onion for visual variation because when I was all done making it, it looked like just beets and nothing special. The onion slices let people know that there's more to it, so that they expect more complex flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Delightful change of pace. I preferred using 1/2 the amount of caraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I made this salad last weekend and adjusted it the way most reviewers advised; cut back on caraway to 1 tsp, put in thin sliced onion instead of minced, doubled the prepared horseradish and cut way back on the vinegar. we served it with Grilled Italian seasoned Sausages and it was fabulous. I let it set in the refrigerator (the leftovers) for a week (5 days) and we just finished it off! It was incredible today!! I had to share with you! I can't recommend it enough! For those that found it bland, try adjusting the ingredients as advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
easy and good. Roasted the beets for 1 1/2 hr at 300 degrees. Used 1 tspn caraway seed and horseradish mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nilifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I took this to a German themed dinner party and was told it was the best thing on the buffet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States