German Spaetzle with Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This was okay when I served it for an Oktoberfest themed dinner but better the second day. A suggestion: either warm the sauerkraut before layering with spaetzle or put the whole thing in the oven afterward. The heat from the cooked spaetzle can't stand up to cold kraut. Since it was better the second day, this might be a candidate for a make-ahead dish. And, oh yeah, it makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was an easier dish to make then I thought but bland, very bland. My son needed me to make it for his German class on the day they were sampling the foods of Germany. I spiced it up by melting some butter in a pan, adding the spaetzle with sauerkraut and then sprinkling some parmesan cheese on it. That made it taste awhole lot better, but probably not as authentic as it is in Germany. If you are in need of a german recipe to take to a class or themed dinner, consider the Bee Sting Cake on this site submitted by Carol Chung...that is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Wonderful spaetzle - thank you! I had the sauerkraut cooking for several hours prior to making the spaetzle to mellow it. I like to cook it in a can of beer and added 1-2t. caraway seeds and a cut up apple. I cooked it in a 3 qt. enameled cast iron pot and took it out when the spaetzle was ready to go and layered it back into this pot, to keep it nice and warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was excellent! My boyfriend is from Southern Germany near Stuttgart and this made him feel right at home. I threw a few sliced onions in a pan to throw on top to give it that extra tastes as well as layered with a small amount of mozzarella cheese and pepper. He was in heaven!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Just not as yellow as my German "mother in law's" she uses yolks only... Keep her German Son happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Better to fry sauerkraut with chopped onion in some butter till all starts browning, also sprinkle bacon bits on top of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRIJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miesbach, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was awesome!!! I added about 1/2 tsp of nutmeg to the batter and cooked the sauerkraut with some onions before layering. After putting the breadcrumbs on, I put the whole thing under the broiler for a few minutes to toast the top. I used the cutting board and knife method to make the noodles; I couldn't get it to come through the holes of my colander very easily. This recipe made a mess of my kitchen but it was extremely tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covelo, California, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great dish. Entered it in a German Food Day contest and placed 3rd. I did a couple of others suggestions, like frying the sauerkraut in butter for awhile to slightly diminish the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
No place for parmesan cheese here you killed it, this is a great one just do it right I am German just look at my car
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States