German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this today, it was great and I'm thinking it's a good base recipe. I think next time I'll add some green chili's and cumin and serve mixec with roasted garlic and Mexican cheese. I also used a potato ricer and it seemed just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Very good and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Not much flavor, i followed this to the T. Did not really like the taste of the nutmeg, although being that I was very hungry I ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totorica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
If you don't have a spaetzle maker, do it the way my Grandma from Bohemia taught me: just hold the bowl over the boiling water and use a spoon to scrape off a bit of dough directly into the pot, dipping the spoon in the water between each scrape to prevent sticking. I still make spaeztle this way but use a big measuring cup with a handle now. These dumplings are essential in chicken paprikash. Never added the nutmeg, milk, etc. Just eggs and water. Kel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
When making spaetzle, you can add almost anything to the batter to flavor the dumpling. Add dry mustard, thyme, rosemary, nutmeg, or any other spice or herb you prefer to compliment whatever the dumpling is accompanying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I'm sure this is good,i make a similar family recipe with less ingredients,however,the one yummy missing thing to try for extra flavor is try throwing in breadcrumbs,i use Italian style for more flavor when u are frying them in butter,it makes all the difference and is extremely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I learned to make Spaetzle from a German lady many, many years ago. Instead of forcing the batter through a sieve, she picked up batter in a teaspoon and then with another teaspoon pushed small bits into a boiling potato soup. She called it Button Soup and her kids loved it - so did I. You just make a standard potato onion soup with ham chunks and before adding cream, you drop in the little buttons of batter and let them cook. Finish off by adding cream. Boy is it hearty and good on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Inexpensive and filling add grilled chicken for a great meal for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Worked out great but added a couple more teaspoons of flour. Maybe my eggs were bigger than the original recipe uses. Sauteed in butter with sauerkraut and caraway with a hint of salt - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Best recipes for German Spaetzle I have had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States