German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Great recipe, the flavor is BETTER! than our favorite authentic German restaurant. The nutmeg makes it so good, my family raved. I served this with pot roast in a red wine, mushroom gravy and roasted asparagus. Thanks for sharing this recipe!! **By the way, a Ziptop bag with 4 or 5 small wholes punched with a skewer was a lot easier to handle than the strainer method. The texture was more authentic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
648 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These are wonderful. My kids love them. I do not have a Spaetzle maker, so i use a flat cheese grater. The first few times I made these I burned my hand a few times. *** Last time I used two clothespins to secure the grater to the edge of my pot. It worked perfectly!*** No more burns and the preparation went so much quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
436 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This recipe was wonderful with our Beef Strogonoff! It was a little tricky to make at first but we got the hang of it fast. One tip is to be careful not to have the strainer/colander too close to the boiling water else it may cook the dough before it goes through - making it a little more difficult.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
What a yummy recipe! It's super-quick, uber-easy and downright delicious. I found that by using my ricer, we were able to squeeze out the spaetzle in no time at all. With the medium-sized holes, it came out perfect. Since first reading this, I've made it about 5 or 6 times, as we've both gotten pretty tired of potatoes, and am making it tonight, to go with the Authentic Hungarian Goulash, also found on this site. Great recipe, Holly; thanks so much for sharing! Geez, I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This recipe is perfect. I made 4x the amount so we could eat some later on. The nutmeg is a must! I didn't have any white pepper. But oh my - sooo delicious! First time making it. After cooking it, I ran it under cold water (saw that in a review) to keep it hard. After that, sauteed it with pieces of bacon and a dash of onion salt. Mmmm! Thank you!! It went very well with the Cranberry Pork Roast recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This was extremely tasty! It's good with parmesan mixed in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
In keeping with the New Year's eve Italian family tradition of eating lentils for prosperity,I served slow cooker lentils and sausage (also from All-Recipes) over the spaetzle. It was delicious. Frying the spaetzle with butter is a must. Don't be afraid to use the nutmeg; it gives it a great flavor as it tends to be on the bland side. If you are going to the trouble making the dumplings, at least double the recipe (no need to double the butter though). It is great reheated. I quadrupled it so I'd have enough to serve with my saurbraten in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I gave it 3 stars because its a great start. I made 2 differant batches. The first one i made it specific to the instuctions. The dough was runny, and the spaetzle came out pretty mushy even after frying. I added almost 2 cups of flour and made a second batch, and WOW what a differance. Spaetzle should be nice and firm, not mushy. The second batch was delish. But instead of nutmeg i used garlic and onion powder to go along with my creamed chicken. Also i boiled it in alted water. Salting the water makes a HUGE differance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMaMa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Delicious. I just wonder if the recipe is really for 6 servings. We had 2 servings out if it. And we needed 2 side dishes to make it a whole meal. Other then that, DELICIOUS. Next time we double the batch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
I thought I was in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States