German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
My grandmother had different way to deal with the dough, and it is the one I have had the most success with. I'm in my mid 60's and grew up with these noodles. Wet a standard size metal tablespoon with water from the pot, scoop up some dough on the spoon and with another wet teaspoon slice small pieces of dough off into the water. The pieces are just flicked off the larger spoon, size will depend on how much dough you slice off the larger spoon. They are a bit time consuming but also, I think time is saved not fussing with colanders and ricers. These are dumpling type noodles and are great in chicken soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This was a delicious side with the beef dish I made. In trying to cut down on fat I didn't use butter but gently sprayed the pan with an olive oil spray. When I was ready to serve I topped it with the no fat beef/sour cream gravy that went with the beef dish. By the way, I used my flat cheese grater and it worked just fine. Oh my it was yummy. Thanks for posting this recipe. This is now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
THESE ARE EXCELLENT. IF ANY LEFT OVER, CAN ALSO BE USED IN SOUP. MY GRANDCHILDREN LOVE THEM. YOU CAN ALWAYS ADD THEM TO A GOOD BOXED STOCK, LEFT OVER CHICKEN, MAKES GREAT SOUP ON THE GO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I had a hard time getting these to the right texture for my spatzle maker, but I think that was just my inexperience. I added additional flour and they came out OK. I thought there was a little too much nutmeg, and I will put in slightly less next time. I served it with Hungarian goulash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Perfect spaetzle! Tastes great and goes with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I use my mom's spaetzle maker and they come out perfect. I use these for chicken and dumpling soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I've lived in Germany for years and learned how to make Spaetzles from a good German friend. These taste just like restaurant versions in Germany and my friend's home cooking. Best recipe for Spaetzles I have ever come across....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Good just lack flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
DOUBLE THIS RECIPE, even my super picky husband and 5-year old cleaned their plates! YUMMMY! The only thing I changed was using chicken broth instead of water, because it was leftover from a chicken I boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Super good and easy! I used a ziplock baggie with holes like was suggested in another review turned out awesome! Will be making them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States