German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
the fresh nutmeg makes all the difference this was better then I had in a gerrman restaurant great recipe and I also used the bag with 4-5 holes poked i it came out great good job oh by the way I cooked the spaetzle in chicken stock gives it a little bit more flavor love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe makes wonderful authentic German spaetzle. I generally double or triple the recipe to make enough for freezing. I use a potato mincer to make the dumpling, and freeze them in meal-sized portions before sautéing them. I sauté them when I thaw them for use. I also add a couple of minced garlic cloves to the recipe because we like the garlic flavor. These dumplings freeze well, and I find it easier to make them in large batches and freeze them to have them handy when I need them. I also have found that it is good to stir them as soon as you have a batch in the water. Otherwise, they fall to the bottom of the pot and stick together. A quick stir breaks them up and they don't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Used the bag method to make this it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The ratios are off. If you follow it as it is it is like batter instead of a pasta type dough. I had to add another cup of flour and it was still too sticky. I ended up cutting it into small pieces with a pizza cutter. Didn't taste right though, too heavy or something. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Great tasting! I used a plastic bag to pipe this into hot water. Tossed with some homemade garlic butter and sprinkled on some fresh grated cheese and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SloRideBob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
We made these last night fried with a half stick of butter and fresh garlic, onion and fresh dried herbs italian blend and 2 lbs fresh ground turkey served with fresh vegetables great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I tried to make this with a ricer - was a mess- it stuck together and to the ricer. Then used a cheese grader - worked like a charm. I suggest you spray cooking oil on the grader first (not a big deal if you don't) push the batter through "backwards" (with the grater side facing the water). Keep the grater close enough to the boiling water that the steam keeps the batter from sticking. don't put on too much batter at a time or it will flow off the side of the grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Goes great with schnitzel and mushroom gravy! I use half the nutmeg, as it easily gets overpowering. I place the dough in a zip-loc bag, snip a small hole in one corner and squeeze it from there into the boiling water. Drain very well and brown it in a little butter in a good-quality non-stick pan over medium high heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The consistency of the batter is perfect to use in my spaetzel press. Quick and easy side dish to many german recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very very good, we made it sautéed it in garlic butter and my hubby pot roast gravy on it said it was the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States