German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Great tasting! I used a plastic bag to pipe this into hot water. Tossed with some homemade garlic butter and sprinkled on some fresh grated cheese and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SloRideBob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
We made these last night fried with a half stick of butter and fresh garlic, onion and fresh dried herbs italian blend and 2 lbs fresh ground turkey served with fresh vegetables great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I tried to make this with a ricer - was a mess- it stuck together and to the ricer. Then used a cheese grader - worked like a charm. I suggest you spray cooking oil on the grader first (not a big deal if you don't) push the batter through "backwards" (with the grater side facing the water). Keep the grater close enough to the boiling water that the steam keeps the batter from sticking. don't put on too much batter at a time or it will flow off the side of the grater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Goes great with schnitzel and mushroom gravy! I use half the nutmeg, as it easily gets overpowering. I place the dough in a zip-loc bag, snip a small hole in one corner and squeeze it from there into the boiling water. Drain very well and brown it in a little butter in a good-quality non-stick pan over medium high heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
The consistency of the batter is perfect to use in my spaetzel press. Quick and easy side dish to many german recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very very good, we made it sautéed it in garlic butter and my hubby pot roast gravy on it said it was the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
The flavor was awesome! Unfortunately my dough was too stiff, i had canned milk that i needed to use up, so I added some extra regular milk to loosen it up and it was a little too thin, alas. I will make again and just stick with regular milk. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetQuicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! I've made it too many times to count usually with some sort of sausage but also with various other meals as a basic side. To fry them up I use only about a tablespoon of butter along with some shredded cheddar cheese and bread crumbs. I eventually obtained a spaetzle press but before then used a series of spoons with holes and several pots of water to compensate for the time it took to press it through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Oh so good. We are currently living in Heidelberg Germany, and I could have easily gotten these from any of the local restaurants. The tip about using the sandwich bag was great. I just stuck a fork through the bottom of the bag after I filled it, and it made for really authentic spaeztle. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe! Tastes awesome and exactly like how my friend makes it.. The only thing is, I don't think it makes 6 serves, I've already eaten half on my own =[
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States