German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My daughter was in love at first bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Delicious recipe! The only thing I changed was that I used less nutmeg. I don't care for the nutmeg flavor in my food, so I only used half. My entire family devoured it. I doubled the recipe for 5 adults and it was just enough. I used a recipe that I have for chicken and dumplings, I just omitted the dumplings, and I served it over the spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
FYI a potatoe ricer is the best and easiest way to make spaetzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
only 1 cup of flour compared to other spaetzle recipes calling for 4 cups. I'm having a party for 12 people, and I quadrupled this recipe, barely looks like enough. Serving sizes should be specified in my opinion. Otherwise, I like how the recipe came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kealasgram
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe....I added fresh Green Beans to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
the fresh nutmeg makes all the difference this was better then I had in a gerrman restaurant great recipe and I also used the bag with 4-5 holes poked i it came out great good job oh by the way I cooked the spaetzle in chicken stock gives it a little bit more flavor love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe makes wonderful authentic German spaetzle. I generally double or triple the recipe to make enough for freezing. I use a potato mincer to make the dumpling, and freeze them in meal-sized portions before sautéing them. I sauté them when I thaw them for use. I also add a couple of minced garlic cloves to the recipe because we like the garlic flavor. These dumplings freeze well, and I find it easier to make them in large batches and freeze them to have them handy when I need them. I also have found that it is good to stir them as soon as you have a batch in the water. Otherwise, they fall to the bottom of the pot and stick together. A quick stir breaks them up and they don't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Used the bag method to make this it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
The ratios are off. If you follow it as it is it is like batter instead of a pasta type dough. I had to add another cup of flour and it was still too sticky. I ended up cutting it into small pieces with a pizza cutter. Didn't taste right though, too heavy or something. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Great tasting! I used a plastic bag to pipe this into hot water. Tossed with some homemade garlic butter and sprinkled on some fresh grated cheese and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SloRideBob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States