German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My dough was extremely glutinous and very difficult to push through any openings.. I went through 2 strainers and a slotted spoon before finally managing somewhat using a cheese grater.. My potato ricer was, of course, AWOL.. The flavor of the spaetzle was good, especially because it was drowned in butter, but it was very chewy, not light and fluffy at all... certainly not like what I had eaten at a restaurant a few days before.. I'm sure my result is pilot error, but I was expecting a better result the first time.. I am a fairly adept cook and don't usually have too much trouble trying something new... I will definitely try this again..AFTER I have a spaetzle maker or find my ricer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was a good recipe for spaetzle. Any other time I have eaten it, it was really hard. This recipe makes little soft dumpling type noodles. However, I would not attempt this without a (spaetzle maker). It was so fast and easy to make with one. And, the spaetzle came out perfectly shaped. Sur la table sells them for at most fifteen dollars. I wasn't going to saute them because I was cooking something else. But, I am glad I did because it really improved the flavor. Make sure to also boil them for the full 7-8 minutes as they do expand to full size and get softer to chew. I just used my largest sauce pan and filled it with water as usual and not a full gallon of water. The only change I made was subbing 2 tsp. of dried parsley for the fresh. Next time I would like to try the fresh though to see the difference. The only downside is I thought the white pepper and nutmeg was way too strong, but I also don't care for the taste of pepper. I will definitely make again but see what will happen if I omit the spices and just saute them in butter, parsley, or possibly another seasoning. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I used a baggie with hole cut in the corner to make the dumplings. I cut the hole a little too big but they were still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I never thought I could make Spaetzle from scratch and I'm so happy I found this recipe. I made a double batch and for a quarter of the flour used whole wheat. I don't have a spaetzle maker but improvised by using a vegetable grill pan that had medium sizes round holes. Just placed it over a large pasta pot and mashed it through with a wooden spoon. It couldn't be easier. I made it with Jaegerschnitzle in which I substituted chicken for pork. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Great recipe!! I married into a German family and even my in-laws think I am a miracle worker when I make these. The nutmeg and white pepper go a long way for such a mild dish. I tried using the traditional spaetzle maker, but didn't like how messy it was (batter would goop up on sides and overflow into pot). Now my husband and I use a pastry bag and a pair of kitchen scissors. I just squeeze the filling out of a medium oblong opening for the pastry bag over boiling water, and my husband cuts the batter every 1/2 inch- 1 inch. It makes for a more traditional shape and I love how the slightly larger pieces have some chew! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Delicious and one of the easiest recipes I've ever made. I took the advice of one of the other reviewer since I don't have a spaetzle maker, I used a flat cheese grater, running the dough through the larger holes. The nutmeg was an interesting taste contribution and judging by what we had leftover (enough for tomorrow's lunch) it was a huge success and something I'm certain to make again. Great recipe Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These were really good. We omitted the nutmeg because of personal preference. We have a spaetzle maker that I have had in the closet for years but never used. I was happy at how easy this was. Make sure the dough is runny. It shouldnt be stiff like a pasta dough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband made this for me and it was so good! its messy to make if you don't have the right tools but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanfloridagirl82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I looooooved these and they were so easy to make even though I was kind of afraid to try at first. And as other reviewers said... dont leave out the nutmeg!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States