German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Diese Nudeln sind PERFEKT!!!!! I made them as stated, but instead of butter, I used bacon grease (I always keep some in the fridge!) and threw in a few thin slices of onion, then browned them all together for a tasty side dish. Thanks Marbalet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latsyrc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
so glad i found this recipe this will definitely replace my plain drop dumplings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohioguy82766
Home Town: Brewster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minerva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was WAY easier than I expected. I don't have a grater/spaetzle board so I cut the corner out of a ziploc bag and cut off pieces with scissors as I squeezed it through. I also sauteed them a little longer so they browned on all sides and drizzled with a reduced beer sauce. they were quick to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Turned out perfect German spaetzle! I used a slotted spoon to press the dough through. It had very large round holes so it was perfect. I made this just to see how it would work out. Now I'm excited to make it for meals. I'm looking for a good brown gravy to go on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I would give it five stars if it didn't call for so much nutmeg! It gave it a strong flavor I've never associated with spaetzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious and authentic. I lived in Germany for a year and spaetzle is one of my favorite dishes. This recipe tastes just like I remember. The only change I made is boiling the noodles in chicken stock. It adds flavor. Otherwise I followed it exactly and it turned out great. My husband even ate them witout gravy this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Omgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: American Fork, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Very easy & delicious. One suggestion: if you plan on leftovers - double the recipe! Kids and adults gobbled it up! Will make spaetzle much more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Kantor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was my first time making spaetzle and this recipe was super easy. I also used a plastic bag with holes cut in the bottom and reduced the nutmeg because I don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I couldn't find my usual spaetzle recipe, so I tried this one. I found the dumplings a little lighter than my other recipe, but not as flavorful. (I may have put too little nutmeg; I just grated it directly into the bowl.) This recipe was very good, and I would not hesitate to make it again. If you like spaetzle, I highly recommend getting a good-quality stainless steel spaetzle maker (the kind that looks like a food mill with a crank on the top). It's a little bit of a hassle to clean, but not terrible, and it makes spaetzle-making sooo much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This were the easiest dumpling I have ever made! If you never have made your own pasta,then begin with this recipe-Served with red cabbage and Wienerschnitzle ,you will have saved yourself a lot of money making a restaurant quality meal at home for 1/4 the price
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States