German Spaetzle Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
So delicious! This is one our new favorite side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
pretty darn good . i'm not that big of a fan of nutmeg so i left that out... I'm gonna have to get my grandmas recipe and compare.. I almost forgot what hers tastes like its been so long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
My daughter was in love at first bite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Delicious recipe! The only thing I changed was that I used less nutmeg. I don't care for the nutmeg flavor in my food, so I only used half. My entire family devoured it. I doubled the recipe for 5 adults and it was just enough. I used a recipe that I have for chicken and dumplings, I just omitted the dumplings, and I served it over the spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
FYI a potatoe ricer is the best and easiest way to make spaetzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
only 1 cup of flour compared to other spaetzle recipes calling for 4 cups. I'm having a party for 12 people, and I quadrupled this recipe, barely looks like enough. Serving sizes should be specified in my opinion. Otherwise, I like how the recipe came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kealasgram
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Awesome recipe....I added fresh Green Beans to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
the fresh nutmeg makes all the difference this was better then I had in a gerrman restaurant great recipe and I also used the bag with 4-5 holes poked i it came out great good job oh by the way I cooked the spaetzle in chicken stock gives it a little bit more flavor love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe makes wonderful authentic German spaetzle. I generally double or triple the recipe to make enough for freezing. I use a potato mincer to make the dumpling, and freeze them in meal-sized portions before sautéing them. I sauté them when I thaw them for use. I also add a couple of minced garlic cloves to the recipe because we like the garlic flavor. These dumplings freeze well, and I find it easier to make them in large batches and freeze them to have them handy when I need them. I also have found that it is good to stir them as soon as you have a batch in the water. Otherwise, they fall to the bottom of the pot and stick together. A quick stir breaks them up and they don't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy2304

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Used the bag method to make this it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States