German Schwenkbraten Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I prepared this for my Mom's birthday and received RAVE reviews. I used Bone-in Pork loin chops and increased the recipie for 12 people. I served it with German Potato Salad and Red Cabbage. YUM! I'll be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I have looked for this recipe for over 15 years. thank you for posting the recipe. The cayenne peper was just a little to much for me. Over all GERAT Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
The flavor of this meat was fabulous. I picked the recipe hoping to match the pork we ate in Germany last summer. I served it to my German-immigrant in-laws. We all agree on 3 points... 1)the pork was great 2)I should've used sweet/vidalia onions and 3) this isn't German. Curry is absolutely not a spice used in Duetchland until relatively recently. I would absolutely make this again, especially for a summer cook-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was pretty darn close to what I remember when I was in Germany for 4 years, real tender and flavorful but not as strong as the real thing, still real good though. Prost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Schwenk was our favorite at cookouts when stationed at Bitburg AB Germany. We've made it twice now. Once with boneless pork loin chops and seasoned as indicated. Once with sliced pork tenderloin and only hlaf of the curry. Family and friends have raved about this dish both times. The chops were a little tougher than ideal, but still very good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Well, we thought this was really tasty. We had thick pork loin chops, so didn't grill them or serve on buns. Instead, we put them in the oven along with all the marinade, covered, for about an hour and a half. We did replace 1/2 cup oil with 1/2 cup beer, just to cut calories a little. Served with baked potatoes and veggies, it made a great, easy weeknight dinner. We cut up the leftover pork, simmered with the remaining pan juices, and served it over egg noodles for a super-quick leftover dinner. A little pasta water and flour slurry made the pan juices a little more gravy-like. Flavors were fabulous! Hubby has already requested this for next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
My husband and I met in Germany. We have been thinking about this for 20 years. I am so happy to find this recipe! I am hoping it is the real deal. I have to disagree with the previous post about curry as I was eating curry wurst on a weekly basis in Germany 20 years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by care625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Never heard of this before but, super glad we tried it because, it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
We spent 4 years stationed in Germany (Bitburg) and loved eating schwenkbraten! We have wished we could have some ever since! This is a fabulous recipe! My family loved it!! I can't wait to make it for company! As far as authenticity goes, this tastes exactly like the schwenks we had in Germany. PS I served it to company with "authentic German Potato Salad" and they raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The main thing missing is SALT! Not during the marinading process, mind you, it would dry out the meat, but for sure before cooking it! Also, the onions are too over powering, the way they are prepared. My suggestiion for anyone looking for something similar would probably be to make a rub with the spices, season the meat well, then cover with the onions (they tenderize), then salt and cook the meat. If you still want to cook up the onions, you can season to your individual taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States