German Sausage Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My batch came out too thin so I added a bag of cooked egg noodles at the end. Also added an extra onion and three garlic cloves to the recipe. Instead of adding the shredded cheese to the soup pot, we sprinkled it on top of each serving. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I really liked this recipe. It completely filled my stock pot so next time I think I will tr y cooking/steaming the cabbage first. I followed another reviewers advice and made a roux in a separate pan by melting 3 Tbsp butter and adding 3 Tbsp flour. Slowly added in the evaporated milk. Then I added 2 packages of shredded swiss cheese. It melted into a smooth fondue like cheese sauce that I incorporated into the soup and so there were no issues about cheese goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Really enjoyed this chowder, my family loves cabbage, l did cook the sausage first. I also added caraway seed, it really gave it loads of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved the idea of cabbage, potatoes and kielbasa but it was lacking in flavor. Used chicken broth instead of bouillon and added about a teaspoon of caraway to add flavor but it just didn't come together like I expected. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
took out about 5-8cups of water recipie should not be 1 inch above with water should be level or a little under veggies cause cabbage shrinks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blackwidow7293

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Creamy and comforting, it was perfect just the way it is! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I don't typically review recipes I haven't made as written, but in this case I'm going to because I think this recipe has potential, just not as written. I made it with 2 boxes of low sodium chicken stock instead of water and filled the pot to an inch UNDER the veggies. They give off water as they cook so when I pulled the lid (oh yeah, I cooked the first 15 minutes with it covered), the liquid was just right. I still added the boullion. I added 2 onions and 2 cloves of garlic. I too like the combo of tomato and cabbage so I threw in a can of diced stewed tomatoes with their juice - it could have used one more. I also added quite a bit of dry mustard as someone else suggested. I liked this recipe and with the adjustments I made, I'd give it 4 of 5 stars. I heeded the advice of others who had issues getting the cheese melted in and made a sauce of sorts with the evaporated milk, a little hot broth, and the cheese and whisked like mad to get it to come together. it sorta did, but not well. If I made this again, which I will, I'll probably saute the veggies first in some butter, add flour to make a roux, then add in the broth. The broth tasted good in it, but it left me wanting it more creamy style rather than soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Great base, but made a few changes...and turned out a seconds-worthy meal! Skipped the cheese. Instead, added 10 oz. of high-quality (Bubbies) sauerkraut, which was not only well-drained, but I squeezed out almost all liquid between paper towels. The acidity from the sauerkraut rounded out the soup, and added an interesting texture (a slight crunchiness). I also added 3T powdered mustard (from someone else's suggestion.) This one's going into the permanent online file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherbob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was so good. I didn't change a thing. My husband and his best friend who is very German thought it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very, very good! I just tweaked it a little- about 2 tsp ground mustard and probably the same of garlic powder. I also added celery and used canned chicken broth (because of broth and cheese no additional salt was needed). The swiss gave a lot of flavor but clumped up in the soup and added a lot of fat on top. Probably can just add it on top of each individual bowl. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crawfish Chowder

See the simple secrets to making quick, creamy crawfish chowder.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States