German Sauerkraut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
A greasier soup, but pretty tasty. I liked the sauerkraut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jairus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This soup was great. It is typical of German cuisine. My family loved it. It is great for a low-carb diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Not a wow but still very good. I had to make some changes due to allergies. I didn't use onions and had to sub beef sausage for the ham. I also used chicken broth for some of the water. Because I didn't have the ham I didn't cook for the extended time so I used less added liquid. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
After reading other reviews that stated this soup seemed bland I made a few changes. First, I didn't saute the onions and I don't think it really made any difference. I used a meaty ham bone instead of smoked ham hocks because I had one left over from a Christmas party. I cooked it in 4 cups water and 2 cups vegetable broth for a little extra flavor. Also, I drained the sauerkraut but did NOT rinse it. Rinsing sauerkraut washes most of the flavor away, which is probably the main reason most people thought this soup bland. I never rinse it (but that might be because I'm Polish, and we like our kraut more sour I guess). I also added 5 or 6 sliced mushrooms and 1/3c quick-cooking pearl barley when I added the sauerkraut to make it more hearty. I did not use any bacon because the soup is already a little greasy from the ham. Instead I thickened it with about 2-3 T cornstarch. I didn't want it too thick. Finally, I made sure to temper the sourcream before adding. It sounds like a lot of changes, but they were all more like little tweaks, and made for a wonderfully delicious and flavorful soup. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
The soup was a little too watery and even with the sour cream, lacked something. It does have a German taste but not a hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Very good! Even my husband and 8 yr old son loved it....and didn't complain about left-overs the next night! Very important to temper the sour cream.....a bit of a hassle, but a definite must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I couldn't believe it when I saw this recipe! I grew up on the stuff and have been craving it since the temperatures have dropped. The only difference was the addition of sour cream. For the rater who had her sour cream curdle... you did not temper it. Always add a small amount of the hot liquid to the sour cream, mix well, add a little more of the hot liquid, mix well, THEN add it to the rest of the hot liquid. This stuff is even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
We served this to start a German themed meal. Everyone loved it! It was fairly easy to make, although time consuming, much more than the 15 minutes prep time in the recipe to chop onions, cook bacon and prep other ingredients. The most difficult task was removing the meat from the ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I so wanted to give a good review, but it's still sitting in my refridgerator. I can't bring myself to taste it! The sour cream curdled, and it looks awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2001
Tasted just like I used to eat when I was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States