German Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
No rye taste whatsoever, even with all that rye flour, completely overwhelmed by the molasses. Heavy dense sweet loaves, this is definitely not sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great recipe, very good rye bread. My family loved the molasses flavor, but it made 2 small loafs. My intention was to make bread for sandwiches. I would combine it into one large loaf next time. It was a little sweet for me. Maybe I'll cut back on the molasses a little next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made a wonderful Rye bread & was perfect for rubins. We used dark rye flower so the loaf was darker. Will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Maybe it was the molasses. The loaf was dark, heavy, and bitter. On my first attempt it wouldn't rise. So I doubled the yeast for the second attempt. That helped but it wasn't nearly risen enough. I baked it anyhow just to test the flavor. It was not to my liking. I'll be looking for another rye recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Guntersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I agree with some of the other reviewers that the molasses flavour is quite strong, really overpowers anything else. It also makes the bread quite dark, not at all how it appears in the picture. A decent result but not to my liking, I will be trying a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Sorry to say that this recipe didn't work for me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The texture of this bread is nice, soft and moist. I substituted some of the rye flour with whole wheat flour because I wanted a lighter loaf. But my bread is way darker than the photo posted by MARBALET. Also, the molasses taste is very strong, and I used 1/3 cup. I think next time I'll use dark corn syrup or maybe just a tablespoon or so of molasses. My dough doubled very quickly, and so did the shaped loaves, way less than the 1 1/2 hours listed. Will make this again, with a couple of changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
What a good bread! Based upon the suggestions, I did reduce the molasses to 1/4 cup. I used dark, and I could taste the bite.. it was yummy, but more would have been excessive. I let the dough rise for 2 hours, punched it down, and then let it rise for another 2 hours. Then, I rolled the dough out and filled it with homemade thousand island dressing, corned beef, sauerkraut and swiss cheese. I braided the dough over the stuffing and baked it for 45 minutes.. it turned out fantastic. Lots of flavor, the whole thing was a hit with my entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Too much molasses. Perhaps it's a typo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States