German Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
My first rye bread. Turned out great and is the best rye I ever had. Made 2 medium sized round loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Very Simple and very delicious. I made several using the exact measurements and ingredients. However I did try 3 diferent grades of Molasses for a slightly differend flavor and I found it best baked for 30 minutes giving greatest texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I'm very sorry, but this recipe has nearly nothing in common with a german rye bread. For the traditional german bread you need nothing but flour, water and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Very nice rye loaf. You will get a workout when kneading this bread, but that's part of the fun, isn't it? I put caraway seeds on top, but I wish I had mixed them into the dough. I recommend letting this rise 3 hours on the first rise and at least two hours in the bread pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This bread is truely fab! - I add caraway seed to the mix for that added touch of rye - I also add a little more rye flour for a denser bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Pietrak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
I served this bread with the Cucumber Sandwiches on this sight---was a really big hit! The dough is very, very stiff, and I found it hard to knead. It also takes a lot longer to rise, so be patient. I baked this bread in my Pampered Chef mini loaf pan, and the loves turned out beautifully! If you are baking just a round loaf, make sure you bake it long enough; mine wasn't done in the center. This sweet, dark brown bread would be great with a bratwurst, mustard, and saurkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
If you're looking for a great rye bread, this is not it. However, if you're looking for a wonderful molasses bread, try this. I felt the abundance of molasses and the absence of caraway detracted from any rye flavor that was meant to be.The rye flavor was definitely missing. This recipe will produce a heavy dense tasty loaf of molasses bread. I was disappointed because I was looking for a flavorful rye.NOTE TO SCRUFFY: Just halve this recipe and you can do it in your bread machine. Its better if you take the loaf out of the machine after the second rise and shape it into a round. Bake at 375 degrees for 33-35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Yum! There's something so comforting knowing that you've just made your own bread. My yeast may not have been fresh, as my dough didn't rise, however, it didn't seem to affect the taste at all. I added about a quarter cup of honey to the dough along with some caraway seeds. Before baking, I brushed the tops of the bread with egg white and sprinkled on more caraway. This was wonderful Holly and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is probably the best rye bread recipe I've tried. Very "European" in taste and texture, the molasses gives it just the right touch. I WILL be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
It has a nice color, and it smells really good when it's baking. It was also fairly easy to make, as homemade bread goes. I would definitely try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States