German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I used beef broth instead of boullion, it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This recipe was delicious and worth the effort. However, it took a lot more time than I thought. It might be better to prepare it a day ahead and just reheat it in the gravy...it tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
Hearty, warm comfort food, German style. Very good. My husband had 3 servings. I found it rather difficult to roll the meat with bulky onions and pickles, but after inserting many toothpicks, I did get them put together. Of course, after their done the toothpicks come out, the meat stays in the roll shape. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Rouladen recipes can be different depending on the area of Germany you're from. The part of Germany my parents grew up uses cube steak in lieu of flank and no pickles. We also use beef broth instead of water and add chopped fresh garlic with the onion. Remember to thicken your gravy if necessary. It's always nice trying different variations to recipes. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I grew up this this recipe. My mother gave it to me back when I got married 20+ years ago and it is loved by my wife and kids. My wife likes the pickles in, but my sons and I don't. I usually have to make 8-10 large ones to feed the family. Make sure the mustard has horse radish in it. Yum! To make it a little easier, I use "sandwich steaks". They're cut thin to begin with and I additionally pound (tenderize) them further sandwiched between plastic wrap or wax paper. The process is the basically the same from there. I brown them and place them in a pot with 2-3 cans of beef broth. I also add a bay leaf or two. Two smahed cloves of garlic. (Taken out later) Also a tablespoon of the mustard and a couple of peppercorns are added to the broth. I usually will also add a little worchestershire sauce. I use a medium colored roue (spelling?) to thicken the gravy after I take the rolls out of the pot.Don't forget to remove the bay leaf, garlic, and peppercorns. Let them cook for a good long time until they barely hold together. We serve them with plain boiled russets and top it with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
369 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
As good and authentic as I have tasted in America.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I love rouladen. I don't make it very often because it is a lot of work and my husband doesn't care for the pickles. The recipe my mom gave me called for chopped carrots, celery, parsnips and leeks to be cooked with the meat, but you strain the sauce before thickening, so they don't stay in. From the looks of this recipe I may just leave them out next time to see how it effects the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
My husband grew up in germany, and he has always talked about how much he loves Rouladen, so I searced numerous recipes for it and settled on this one. It was extremely easy to make. I bought a pretty expensive german mustard to try and make it more authentic, and the mustard was too spicy for my husband. Other than that, I believed he liked it! I added a variety of spices as well such as paprika. Next time I will prepare it with a milder mustard. I put the rouladen on top of buttered noodles. The main reason I chose this recipe over others was because it was the shortest cooking time for rouladen. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
"Wow! This is DELICIOUS!" Those were my husband's exact words. This is a fabulous recipe. It wasn't nearly as time-consuming as I thought it would be, and I didn't have any trouble making the rolls. I think the trick is in how you slice the flank steak. I sliced mine the long way and was careful to make sure I had slices that were thick enough to hold together but thin enough to cook. I used French's Bold 'n Spicy brown mustard (don't use ordinary yellow mustard). I think it's the mustard that makes this better than other rouladen I've had. This recipe is a definite favorite at our house. It's not healthy, so we won't have it weekly or anything, but it is requested for birthday dinners, etc. A great fall or winter meal is rouladen, mashed potatoes, and acorn squash. If you want to lower the fat content, it tastes just as good if you slice the bacon strips in half the longway. Use the leaner half and discard the other portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2003
VERY GOOD RECIPE.I have tried others-this was certainly the easiest for the flavor. I added 2 TBSP. worcestershire sauce and a little tomato sauce.Also,salt and peppered my meat before adding the mustard, etc.This is my husband's favorite German dish and he thought it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States