German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is simply one of my favorite dishes. My mother has been making this as long as I can remember, but with a few changes. First, she puts a slice (or two) of black pumpernickel bread into the sauce while it's cooking, second, she puts in a cup (more or less) of strong black coffee. This adds a dark richness to the gravy that is simply unbeatable!! Served with spaetzle and red cabbage, this is a fall/winter meal that is to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I am not sure what was done differently that everyone is raving about this recipe. I found it to be bland and the meat was dryed out and tuff after being in the water/bullion that long. I will make several changes before trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Phenomenal! If you have a hard time getting flank steak, get the meat department's "butcher" to slice down a bottom round roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catch-a-fire

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Avalon, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Just like Grandma used to make! These were one of my favorite dishes as a kid and I'm so glad I found this recipe. The only changes I made were the omission of onions (I don't like them). I also put the rouladen and the broth mix in a roasting pan and put in the oven at 350 for about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
My German mom taught me to make this. She didn't enjoy cooking but there were a few things she did do really well. And this was one of them. I used thin sliced round steak, yellow mustard, and capers instead of pickles. I braised it in the oven at 335 for 1 and 1/2 hours. It was fantastic. I have never used the pickles but someday I will. Thanks for the recipe. I hadn't made it in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I thought this was excellent. I used Goldman's spicy mustard and added horseradish to it. I used a cut of Bottom round roast and pounded it out thin and cut into 3" x 6" Strips. For my liquid i used a combo of beef broth and I actually dumped in a beer (Miller Lite), added in a couple cloves of Garlic and a bay leaf. These were excellent. I really was happy with how it turned out. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is one of my husband's most favorite foods, but I had never tried cooking it at home before. This recipe was great! I followed the recipe except for these slight modifications. I used round steak instead of flank, I semi-fried my bacon before adding to the roll. I used a generous amount of mustard with horseradish on each one, and cooked in lower sodium beef broth with a splash of worcestershire. I couldn't get all my onions to stay on the rolls, so I chopped the leftovers up and added them to the beef broth, along with one dill pickle slice chopped, and one tablespoon of mustard. I simmered them for more like 2 hours after they browned. I served with the German Red Cabbage recipe from this site, and boiled russet potatoes. All in all a wonderful recipe, my only change next time will be to cut my round steak smaller, say 3" by 6-7". My rolls were a little large. Thanks Ron for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have been making these for years but instead of flank stk. I usually use round steak and slice it very thin. If the meat is partially frozen it is quite easy to slice. 1/4 inch is too thick and won't be that easy to roll. Have the strips long enough so you can easily give them a complete roll at least 2 times. Sometimes I spread a little horseradish on the strips too which gives them a nice flavor. I cook the bacon in the microwave for a few minutes before putting it on the meat, otherwise it stays pretty raw. Instead of water I use either swansons or campbells beef broth and then thicken with flour to make a nice gravy and let simmer in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was OUTSTANDING!!! I chopped all the filling up and added minced garlic to it. I served it with Hot German potato salad and German beer. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States