German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I LOVE THIS!! IT IS SOOOOO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Laveen, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is the right and best recipe for Rouladen. The pickles give the gravy the wonderful taste. Here in St.Louis,Mo the German butcher G&W cuts the right beef for Rouladen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I love this dish, but my grandma made it with Skirt Steak which is expensive, but well worth it. I use saved bacon fat to brown the rolls and leave out the pickle. I will post my recipe to show how my family made this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Yum! Followed recipe exactly but was short on time so instead of simmering for an hour, I pressure cooked them for 7 minutes . Turned out as I remember them and had dinner on in 30 minutes. Also tried them with black forest ham instead of bacon (what I had on hand). That was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have been making Rouladen for years, from a recipe my mom brought from germany. the only way hers is different is that she added finely chopped carrot to the inside of the rolls and of course made a fabulous gravy from the broth and drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Ostroff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ridgeley, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This recipe is very close to the one my mom made. This was the first time my husband and his friend had Rouladen, and they both loved it. I followed the ingredients quite closely, but did make a couple changes in how I prepared it: 1. I pre-bought rouladen cut steaks from the butcher. 2. I minced the onion and 1/2 a jar of pickles (1 jar seemed way too much) and diced the bacon, and mixed it all in one bowl. 3. I added Dijon mustard to the filling until it was relatively creamy, then spread it evenly on each piece of beef. 4. I added reduced salt beef broth instead of beef cubes and water, and baked them for about 90 minutes at 325. I then removed them from the pan and made a gravy with the juices, then served them with the gravy over the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Never had this before, But it turned out picture perfect and tasted wonderful! Even the kids liked it. Made it exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We used flat breakfast steaks instead of flank steak, because we're poor. It was a tiny bit tough, but I don't know if flank steak would have been better. We definitely didn't need that much onion. And we're glad we read a review that suggested making gravy - it wouldn't have been as good without gravy. But anyway - really good, and totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Flavor is good but baking them is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Westsluvfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My family recipe is quite similar..after i brown the rouladen I make a brown gravy to simmer them in . I add pickle juice to the gravy to add more flavour and of course sour cream at the end. Then serve over spaetzle. I also make a meatball version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States