German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
"Wow! This is DELICIOUS!" Those were my husband's exact words. This is a fabulous recipe. It wasn't nearly as time-consuming as I thought it would be, and I didn't have any trouble making the rolls. I think the trick is in how you slice the flank steak. I sliced mine the long way and was careful to make sure I had slices that were thick enough to hold together but thin enough to cook. I used French's Bold 'n Spicy brown mustard (don't use ordinary yellow mustard). I think it's the mustard that makes this better than other rouladen I've had. This recipe is a definite favorite at our house. It's not healthy, so we won't have it weekly or anything, but it is requested for birthday dinners, etc. A great fall or winter meal is rouladen, mashed potatoes, and acorn squash. If you want to lower the fat content, it tastes just as good if you slice the bacon strips in half the longway. Use the leaner half and discard the other portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I love rouladen. I don't make it very often because it is a lot of work and my husband doesn't care for the pickles. The recipe my mom gave me called for chopped carrots, celery, parsnips and leeks to be cooked with the meat, but you strain the sauce before thickening, so they don't stay in. From the looks of this recipe I may just leave them out next time to see how it effects the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Very good! Used sandwich steaks in place of flank steak with great results! Left off the pickles, used canned beef broth in place of boullion, and added 2t minced garlic, splash of worcestershire, and 3 small bay leaves to the beef broth while simmering. Added about 2T cornstarch to thicken broth to gravy before serving. Absolutely tasty! Served over rice! A repeat recipe for sure! Tastes a tiny bit like corned beef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
I used beef broth instead of boullion, it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
This recipe was delicious and worth the effort. However, it took a lot more time than I thought. It might be better to prepare it a day ahead and just reheat it in the gravy...it tastes just as good if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
Hearty, warm comfort food, German style. Very good. My husband had 3 servings. I found it rather difficult to roll the meat with bulky onions and pickles, but after inserting many toothpicks, I did get them put together. Of course, after their done the toothpicks come out, the meat stays in the roll shape. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
My husband grew up in germany, and he has always talked about how much he loves Rouladen, so I searced numerous recipes for it and settled on this one. It was extremely easy to make. I bought a pretty expensive german mustard to try and make it more authentic, and the mustard was too spicy for my husband. Other than that, I believed he liked it! I added a variety of spices as well such as paprika. Next time I will prepare it with a milder mustard. I put the rouladen on top of buttered noodles. The main reason I chose this recipe over others was because it was the shortest cooking time for rouladen. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
I found this recipie a little less then a year ago, and I have made it a dozen + times. I follow the directions to the tee. I use the ground stone mustard as called for. (The mustard is the key to this recipie) I tried to have the flank steak cut for me at the grocery, but it was to thin. A little thick is good. Won't be dry. This is my husband absolute favorite. It is also requested everytime my brother comes to visit. His friends have even shown up at my door asking me if I would make this for them. I LOVE THIS RECIPIE!!! Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Since my dad is from Germany, this was a staple in my house while i was growing up. Now I make it for my family and it's always worth the labor! We serve this with red cabbage and potato dumplings. Great fall/winter treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I've made this a lot of times and everybody just wolf it down everytime. We omit the bacon because we don't like wet bacon, sometimes I use ham, sometimes not. I use "breakfast steaks" because it's about the perfect thickness. And I use 1 can of beef broth instead of the boullion cube. I also thickened up the gravy at the end by adding flour water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States