German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My mom made a very similar recipe while I was growing up. Now my husband loves this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My husband made this for us not too long ago. I was really leery of trying it. Who had heard of pickles wrapped in meat?!? I waited until after my husband and our 6 kids tried it -- they loved it! Then, when I tried it, I could see why!!! I am making it again tonight, and will many more times in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This receipe is right on the mark! I had a german friend make me rouladen several years ago and I was recently craving it. Tried this receipe and it was exactly what I was looking for! You can change it up to your liking but I think it is perfect as is! Thank you for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This really turned out great! It was super fun to make. I had a lot of onion left over so I just threw that in with the beef boullion. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My husband thought it was the "bomb" I thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
excellent flavors, I used flank steak and pounded it out thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abengus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is a GREAT recipe. I didn't have flank steak, so I used cubed steak, Never do that. It was good, texture was not so appealing. I will try thick sliced Roast Beef next time. I also used to cans of Beef broth rather then the bouillon cubes. Made an awesome gravy for the Spaetzle. MMMMMM good. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Ok, this is marvelous. Want to make it even easier? If you have a hispanic market or carniceria near you, buy carne ranchera (the same meat used for carne asada) and bypass slicing the flank steak, because that is what carne ranchera is: Thin sliced flank steak. Then this is a snap to put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Well, it's been 8+ years since my first review of Ron's recipe as "DRBONES". And I'm sure he hit a home run based on how many folks saved the recipe! It's been very interesting, over the years, reading all the variations that have been posted. Some of which I'll try. I'm sure variations exist regionally. Local, and known to me, Chef Hans...grilled? I'll give it a shot for sure! And to the individual that stated never to use sandwich steaks, you've never been broke. ;) Growing up, my German family, new to the US, had little money. And sandwich steaks, at that time, fit the budget. Nowadays, they're expensive! These sandwich steaks that we now use ARE NOT STEAK-UMMS or whatever they're called. Keep the new ideas flowing folks...I'm still cooking....and better than ever! Thanks again Ron for keeping the old traditions alive!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I found that this recipe worked well taste-wise, but for some reason the bacon didn't cook when I followed the recipe as written. I had to improvise, which meant that the meat got a bit dry and over-cooked. Maybe it was just my experience?? Next time I think I'd do it in a slow-cooker. Otherwise, pretty good recipe... thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States