German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a good basic starter recipe. There should be salt and white pepper sprinkled on both sides of meat after pounding thin. Traditionally the meat used is beef shin, but is hard to find outside of a good butcher's. An alternative to the bacon is a chunk of smoked Gouda cheese. I sear mine in salted browned butter and cook in same pot. Add water and cook on medium heat with peppercorn and bay leaf for 2 hours. Remove peppercorn and bayleaf and add beef bouillon. Cook for 2-3 more hours on medium low. Use cornstarch and water mixture to thicken gravy after removing roulades. I serve mine with rotkohl ( red cabbage) and potato dumplings. This is how my Moms in West Berlin made them when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Have make for yrs. A German lady friend/coworker made this for us as a treat and we were hooked !!I buy breakfast steaks. I use Dijon mustard , chop small the pickles, add onion , beef broth and always have noodles and mashed potatoes ready !!! Family fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Love Rouladen. This recipe is nice and simple, and the taste is really good. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Living in Mexico, I could not find dill pickles, so I decided to 'Mexicanize' it a bit by using pickled Jalapeno peppers (Jalapenos en escabeche). My dinner guests, who are all used to 'picante' food (i.e. spicy hot), loved it, as did I. You can control the level of spiciness by the quantity of chiles you use. Also, instead of using beef bouillon, I used beef extract, which has a richer flavor, but don't salt the meat as the extract (and bouillon) has plenty of salt already. Finally, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to the sauce to thicken it. Everybody licked their plates! I served it with 'rot col' (Braised red cabbage with apples, German style) asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, homemade spaetzle (use club soda instead of water for a light spaetzle)and homemdade German Brochen (hard rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PYandre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband doesn't like the pickle but prefers carrot instead...I make little thin slices of carrot and add them sideways so they roll easily...but I may try, as one reviewer suggested, chopping some dill pickle and adding a small amount for flavor...can't hurt, might help!! Worse that can happen is that I'll be eating them by myself before I switch back to no pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Really delicious...I included a fresh garden carrot in the roll on one of the occasions I made this dish. I have also made it several times by the recipe as well. In the summertime this works great on the BBQ as well- just make sure to add a lot of broth in the pan to keep it moist. great recipe Ron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is the correct recipe for this German dish. My father was military and I was born in Frankfurt. My mother used to make this a couple of times a year just as your recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was taught to me by a German immigrant friend. Every person seems to have their own twists but the basics are the same. I will agree that pan drippings are essential! Sear the meat well then roast. I sautéed added onion and bacon in the pan first, remove then add the rolls. No need for boiling them if you toss your oven worthy pan in the oven. The mustard and pickles make the meat super tender. The pan-dripping gravy is the best! And military ladies your commissary butcher already knows how to cut flank for roulade if unlike my local comm it's not already packaged that way. I also use string vs toothpicks- much easier to remove after cooking. A flour based roux from the pan is best. My husband and son go berserk for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My grandma was German and I was born in Germany and my Dad had three tours there. My grandma passed a recipe on to the woman who gave birth to me (I wouldn't call her my mother since she never really was) and the woman who gave birth to me called it pigs in a blanket. Instead of rolling the bacon inside she made the Rouladen with the bacon on the outside. Very good recipe, ty for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrytheterrifyc
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States