German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wow! This was great. I had never heard of Rouladen but was looking for something unusual to make. This was extremely flavorful, moist, and my picky husband loved it minus the onions in his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I only put a thin layer of mustard on the meat and found the layer of mustard to have practically dissapeared. I recommend putting more one than you would usually eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Terrific! Tasted just like the ones my German Nanny made. My husband and kids gave them the once over, but when they tried them they loved them too. I made some "dirty noodles" and cabbage to go with them; it was a great meal that brought me back to my youth. Thank You! The only changes I made were my Nanny's, I added bread crumbs to the center of the rolls, and wrapped the bacon around the outside of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and everyone I have cooked it for loves it! I make a delicious sauce with the broth using only cornstarch, to serve over spatzle or noodles. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe, it's fantastic the way it is! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
This recipe far exceeded my expectations. It was easy to make, had the perfect ingredients for balance, the taste was authentic. A great recipe, that my family enjoyed. As a side dish we had mashed potatoes, and red cabbage. It's a keeper.Thanks...Ron, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I add red and green peppers to the meat, alternating them to give a nice color. I also season the meat with salt and pepper and paprika. I add sour cream and paprika, onions and more bouillon to the gravy mixture. The sour cream is added minutes before serving. The meat is key as the previous reviewer stated and is very difficult to find here. That has been the greatest challenge. I will try braciolle that is flattened next time and hope that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
One word; Excellent. 3 small tips rather than changes: Add horseradish to the mustard spread, 2 smashed garlic cloves to the broth and red wine. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I grew up eating this made by my German Oma. I've always loved it. The recipe is the exact one I've used for years only I've never heard of the pickle in it. (Maybe regional) I made this for my husband and he was totally hooked. Now we have it at least twice a month. Please try it, I know it sounds simple, but it's delicious. Thanks for putting this recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I ALSO HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS. IF YOU'RE WATCHING YOUR CALORIES, OMIT THE BACON, USE POUNDED CHICKEN BREASTS AND CHICKEN STOCK INSTEAD OF BEEF. EQUALLY DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I'm 71 years old and was raised on German food. My wife came from Berlin in 1963 and I enjoy good old fashion German cooking everyday. We make rouladen about 3 times a year. We use the same recipe except that we have used different types of mustard and we always add a small wedge of carrot cut lengthwise. Will be uploading a picture soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States