German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
One word; Excellent. 3 small tips rather than changes: Add horseradish to the mustard spread, 2 smashed garlic cloves to the broth and red wine. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I grew up eating this made by my German Oma. I've always loved it. The recipe is the exact one I've used for years only I've never heard of the pickle in it. (Maybe regional) I made this for my husband and he was totally hooked. Now we have it at least twice a month. Please try it, I know it sounds simple, but it's delicious. Thanks for putting this recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I ALSO HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS FOR YEARS. IF YOU'RE WATCHING YOUR CALORIES, OMIT THE BACON, USE POUNDED CHICKEN BREASTS AND CHICKEN STOCK INSTEAD OF BEEF. EQUALLY DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I'm 71 years old and was raised on German food. My wife came from Berlin in 1963 and I enjoy good old fashion German cooking everyday. We make rouladen about 3 times a year. We use the same recipe except that we have used different types of mustard and we always add a small wedge of carrot cut lengthwise. Will be uploading a picture soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
My husband's aunt had a similar recipe, but I tweeked it a little, and he says mine is the best he's ever had: 6 skirt steaks quarted pickles 12 slices of thick bacon (fried to medium crisp and save the drippings) chopped onions mustard Spread mustard on each steak, place 2 strips of bacon(1 on each side), lay pickle 1/4 horizontally, sprinkle with chopped onions. Roll up the steaks, and secure with toothpicks. Dredge in flour, and brown in the bacon drippings. Grease a 13x9 baking dish with any remaining bacon fat, place rolls in dish, and pour a can of beef broth over the rolls, Cover with foil, and bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Turn the rolls and continue baking for 20 more minutes. Remove rolls from baking dish, and pour all the juices and any pieces of meat, onion etc, into a sauce pan, and add a little flour to thicken. This makes the most wonderful gravy. Takes a little time to prepare, but believe me , it's worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This has been a favorite of mine since I was little growing up in Munchen. We also "Americanize" it sometimes...by adding some stuffing to the mixture and some swiss cheese. It is wonderful this way too. Gotta love that German food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was really good. It tastes just like the rouladen we get at our local german restaurant! the only changes I made was I used bracciola instead of the flank steak. I am going to do these in the crock pot from now on. To good to only eat on the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedish28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This sounds just like the recipe my born and raised German Mom makes. I've seen her make it so many times I could do so in my sleep. My Mom makes it exactly this way except: She adds a couple of fresh, chopped tomatoes to the meat and gravy while it simmers and she uses dill spears instead of sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I haven't made this recipe, but I frequently make German Rouladens from a family recipe. I use round steak instead of flank steak, and it works just fine. Actually, it is usually more tender and cheaper. I use string instead of toothpicks. I cut all the string I am going need before I start wrapping. I do it assembly line style: Beef, onions, bacon, parsley, any other ingredients. Yes, sometime it feels like you need a third hand. I Simmer the rouladens in beef stock or consume for 2 or more hours in the same pan I brown them in, resulting in a deeper flavor and fork tender meat. Onions, bacon and parsley are standard ingredients, however mustard and pickles indicate the local traditions. Hope this helps turn the recipe into a 5 star for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This was okay, but no one liked the pickles in this or the flavor the pickles left. I used cooking string as I was out of toothpicks, but that was really difficult to hold the meat rolled up and wrap the string around too and I needed 3 hands. The toothpicks are much easier to use, and easier to get out when you're ready to eat too. The famiy thought this needed a sauce or gravy which this really didn't make. Thanks, I enjoyed trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States