German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My grandmother from Germany makes a really great version of this, and here's how: Lay the beef on a cutting board and sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper, then spread dijon mustard across the top side. Spread finely chopped onions across the top. Spread three quarter strips of bacon across the top, and put thin slices of dill pickle spears between the bacon strips. Roll the meat tightly and tie with two kitchen strings. Once you have prepared all of the rolls, take the remaining chopped onion and put in a large skillet with butter. THIS IS THE KEY: ADD A FEW HEAPING TABLESPOONS OF PAPRIKA TO THE ONION AND BUTTER MIX, AND ROLL THE ROLLS AROUND THE MIX UNTIL BROWNED ON ALL SIDES. (This is what makes a great flavor) Then add about 6 cups of water with 6 beef boullion cubes to the pot, And cook until meat is cooked all the way through. Once the meat is done cooking place the rolls in the oven to keep warm and prepare gravy. Use the liquid and drippings from the pan, (you should use a gravy separator to get the fat and grease out of the gravy. Then slowly stir in water and corn starch (this won't give you that "floury" taste like flour does) while bringing to a boil, keep adding until the gravy is as thick as you like. Serve with Mashed potatoes, brocolli and cucumber salad! My FAVORITE MEAL OF ALL TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Wonderful german food! I have used pork for this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I loved this and so did my grandchildren. I used a pork tenderloin instead of beef and it was delicious. I also used a pickle relish. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Sound much like my recipe and I am German. If you have a crockpot you do not have to bother to brown the meat. It will come out the same. Found that out after 20 years of preparing the old fashioned style with browning, than another german lady tod me it is really not necessary to brown the meat. That way it is a fast fix meal. Fill, roll and cook in the crockpot. I also think pickles are a must, but that may be regional different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this with all the suggestions that I read on this site including...bay leaf, garlic, onion, a little red wine, worchestshire sauce, and cornstarch to thicken. This was just the recipe that I was looking for. I am not sure it is as good as the German restaurant I went to, but it would sure make a good run for the money. I relished every bite and did not want to stop eating. The meat was extremely tender and the gravy was excellent served on mashed potatoes. I served this also with the Red Cabbage recipe from this site because that is what they served at the German restaurant I went to. Thank you for sharing the recipe and thanks to all of you who reviewed it. I will definitely be making this again perhaps even for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is close to what my grandmother and mother made in Germany. They browned the onions and bacon first before placing them on the meat. After the meat was rolled it was dusted in flour then browned in the bacon drippings. This method adds alot of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
this was pretty good, even though my hubby is not fond of round steak. Cooked up good, alot of flavor.. don't think we'll have again though, the meat was reduced and I wanted to try something different. But I did like this alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wcumom1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I lived in Germany for several years and this is the exact recipe I got from a German neighbor, except I use Gray Poupon mustard and omit the pickle only because I don't like pickles. This is a great recipe, good with mashed potatoes or spatze which is a german noodle you can find in the international section of most grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
My ex-mother in law was from Schweinfurt Germany and she used this same recipe with a couple variations. She used half a (breakfast size)sausage link instead of pickles in her roulden. She did tell me that she had heard of pickles being used. The sausage added a hearty taste with the steak, sausage,and bacon meats combined. She also browned hers really dark in a skillet. She then made a dark savory gravy using the dark bits stuck to the bottom of the skillet. She would put beef broth in the skillet and heat it. When it started to come to a boil, she would reduce the heat and begin scraping the bits off with a wooden spoon until they were all dissolved into the broth, then make a very dark gravy by adding a little red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, and thickening with cornstarch and more broth. I prefer to use flour for thickening because cornstarch gravy tends to gel when refrigerated, and doesn't reheat as well. I am excited to make these again after a lot of years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dillsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My fiance is half German, and grew up eating this food. I had only tasted rouladen once, but thought I should give it a try and prepare it myself. They were very good! I followed the recipe exactly (yes, the pickle too, as it is pretty typical of this dish) and they came out tender and delicious. My fiance told me they were among the best (and probably the best EVER) he has had! :) We had them with Traditional mashed potatoes from this site also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States