German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Outstanding! Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This Recipe was great. Thank you! We wil make this again and will add cheese to it the next time, it is almost like a bacon burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was strange tasting. I think it was the pickles. I used the correct meat, I bought it at a German butcher shop and tis meat was named for the dish sooo... Just our taste I guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Easy, really delicious! Add more liquid to make more gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My Oma came from Germany with my dad in 1946. I have eaten this dish for more than 45 years. I work from scratch to make Rouladen. I use round steak that is cut very thin about 1/4" and is 3" by 6". I do use a good German mustard, bacon and onions that are sliced very thin (makes it easier to roll) and I buy good dill pickles and quarter them. I will use fresh ground pepper AND ground ALLSPICE to sprinkle on before rolling. Oma said that no German kitchen is complete without allspice. I roll, secure with roladen needles, (turkey lacing needles for holding in the stuffing work just as well) sear in a pan till nice and brown with some oil, and transfer to a dutch oven. Add your water and bouillon to taste along with 1-2 bay leaves, and a tea ball filled with some whole allspice and peppercorn. You will notice a very different distinctive flavor when done. Ome always made these with sweet and sour red cabbage and knortch. It is a regional dish from the area of Thuringen. Boil potatoes, drain and reserve some of the water. Mash good, add potato starch and a bit of the water, mash till they are sticky and end up like a glob on the wnd of the potoato masher. They are a bland dish, but with the gravy from the rouladen it is a wonderful meal. Now if you will excuse me I need to go make some because I am now very hungry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Ziemann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My paternal grandmother was raised on a farm in East Prussia in the 1880's. She cooked on a wood- burning stove. When she made rouladen she used strips of bacon, German mustard, diced onion, diced pickle. After rolling & tying it she rolled it in flour then browned it in lard in a cast iron skillet. She added some water. Sometimes she cooked it on the stove top. Sometimes she baked it in the oven. In 1907 my grandparents emigrated to America. As a kid in the 1950's I was one of the beneficiaries of her magnificent cooking talents. When I make rouladen I too like to brown it in flour because I think it makes the finished dish taste better, including the gravy. The only change I make is that I brown the meat in vegetable oil not lard in order to reduce the saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was really good! A little bland as stated, but I did add the extras suggested by others, and thicken the juices into gravy at the end. Served with Spaetzle - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
great recipe. My mother made these all the time but with sweet pickle. We are Polish, so maybe that's how they do it. Either type of pickle tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is fantastic. I thought the pickles were going to make it taste weird, but it was delicious. The flavors & textures blend perfectly. My husband LOVES this recipe, and I make it annually w/ German potato salad for his October birthday. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The main things about this recipe that differs from the way it is made in germany is the ingredients; german mustard is spiced differently than ours-the closest to it is dijon, and yes horse radish is necessary, also german pickles (or gerkins) are sweeter than our dill pickles but not as sweet as our bread n butter pickles-good luck finding an in-between in your local grocery and german bacon for this recipe is cut from a block not just cut "American" thick. It should not only cook for a long time but it should also sit for about an hour after cooking before it is served. It is a delish dish when prepared right-good luck to all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Sherry's German Turkey

See how to take turkey to the next level with bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States