German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is fantastic. I thought the pickles were going to make it taste weird, but it was delicious. The flavors & textures blend perfectly. My husband LOVES this recipe, and I make it annually w/ German potato salad for his October birthday. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
The main things about this recipe that differs from the way it is made in germany is the ingredients; german mustard is spiced differently than ours-the closest to it is dijon, and yes horse radish is necessary, also german pickles (or gerkins) are sweeter than our dill pickles but not as sweet as our bread n butter pickles-good luck finding an in-between in your local grocery and german bacon for this recipe is cut from a block not just cut "American" thick. It should not only cook for a long time but it should also sit for about an hour after cooking before it is served. It is a delish dish when prepared right-good luck to all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What I like best about this recipe is that it's easy to modify. Instead of the pickle mixture I've used dressing out of the box with a small can of mushroom stems and pieces mixed in. If I have leftover gravy from pot roast I'll use that rather than the gravy in the recipe. I've also used leftover French Onion Soup mixed with a can of cream of mushroom soup for the gravy. All in all, it's good as is but super easy to modify if you're trying to use up leftovers too. Make sure you don't overcook though...it can get dry in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Delicious. Did have to cut the cook time to about 40 minutes, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My grandmother from Germany makes a really great version of this, and here's how: Lay the beef on a cutting board and sprinkle with salt and fresh ground pepper, then spread dijon mustard across the top side. Spread finely chopped onions across the top. Spread three quarter strips of bacon across the top, and put thin slices of dill pickle spears between the bacon strips. Roll the meat tightly and tie with two kitchen strings. Once you have prepared all of the rolls, take the remaining chopped onion and put in a large skillet with butter. THIS IS THE KEY: ADD A FEW HEAPING TABLESPOONS OF PAPRIKA TO THE ONION AND BUTTER MIX, AND ROLL THE ROLLS AROUND THE MIX UNTIL BROWNED ON ALL SIDES. (This is what makes a great flavor) Then add about 6 cups of water with 6 beef boullion cubes to the pot, And cook until meat is cooked all the way through. Once the meat is done cooking place the rolls in the oven to keep warm and prepare gravy. Use the liquid and drippings from the pan, (you should use a gravy separator to get the fat and grease out of the gravy. Then slowly stir in water and corn starch (this won't give you that "floury" taste like flour does) while bringing to a boil, keep adding until the gravy is as thick as you like. Serve with Mashed potatoes, brocolli and cucumber salad! My FAVORITE MEAL OF ALL TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Wonderful german food! I have used pork for this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I loved this and so did my grandchildren. I used a pork tenderloin instead of beef and it was delicious. I also used a pickle relish. We will have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Sound much like my recipe and I am German. If you have a crockpot you do not have to bother to brown the meat. It will come out the same. Found that out after 20 years of preparing the old fashioned style with browning, than another german lady tod me it is really not necessary to brown the meat. That way it is a fast fix meal. Fill, roll and cook in the crockpot. I also think pickles are a must, but that may be regional different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
I made this with all the suggestions that I read on this site including...bay leaf, garlic, onion, a little red wine, worchestshire sauce, and cornstarch to thicken. This was just the recipe that I was looking for. I am not sure it is as good as the German restaurant I went to, but it would sure make a good run for the money. I relished every bite and did not want to stop eating. The meat was extremely tender and the gravy was excellent served on mashed potatoes. I served this also with the Red Cabbage recipe from this site because that is what they served at the German restaurant I went to. Thank you for sharing the recipe and thanks to all of you who reviewed it. I will definitely be making this again perhaps even for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is close to what my grandmother and mother made in Germany. They browned the onions and bacon first before placing them on the meat. After the meat was rolled it was dusted in flour then browned in the bacon drippings. This method adds alot of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States