German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Just like Grandma used to make! These were one of my favorite dishes as a kid and I'm so glad I found this recipe. The only changes I made were the omission of onions (I don't like them). I also put the rouladen and the broth mix in a roasting pan and put in the oven at 350 for about 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
My German mom taught me to make this. She didn't enjoy cooking but there were a few things she did do really well. And this was one of them. I used thin sliced round steak, yellow mustard, and capers instead of pickles. I braised it in the oven at 335 for 1 and 1/2 hours. It was fantastic. I have never used the pickles but someday I will. Thanks for the recipe. I hadn't made it in years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZERINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I thought this was excellent. I used Goldman's spicy mustard and added horseradish to it. I used a cut of Bottom round roast and pounded it out thin and cut into 3" x 6" Strips. For my liquid i used a combo of beef broth and I actually dumped in a beer (Miller Lite), added in a couple cloves of Garlic and a bay leaf. These were excellent. I really was happy with how it turned out. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is one of my husband's most favorite foods, but I had never tried cooking it at home before. This recipe was great! I followed the recipe except for these slight modifications. I used round steak instead of flank, I semi-fried my bacon before adding to the roll. I used a generous amount of mustard with horseradish on each one, and cooked in lower sodium beef broth with a splash of worcestershire. I couldn't get all my onions to stay on the rolls, so I chopped the leftovers up and added them to the beef broth, along with one dill pickle slice chopped, and one tablespoon of mustard. I simmered them for more like 2 hours after they browned. I served with the German Red Cabbage recipe from this site, and boiled russet potatoes. All in all a wonderful recipe, my only change next time will be to cut my round steak smaller, say 3" by 6-7". My rolls were a little large. Thanks Ron for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I have been making these for years but instead of flank stk. I usually use round steak and slice it very thin. If the meat is partially frozen it is quite easy to slice. 1/4 inch is too thick and won't be that easy to roll. Have the strips long enough so you can easily give them a complete roll at least 2 times. Sometimes I spread a little horseradish on the strips too which gives them a nice flavor. I cook the bacon in the microwave for a few minutes before putting it on the meat, otherwise it stays pretty raw. Instead of water I use either swansons or campbells beef broth and then thicken with flour to make a nice gravy and let simmer in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was OUTSTANDING!!! I chopped all the filling up and added minced garlic to it. I served it with Hot German potato salad and German beer. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ronazack
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This recipe absolutely wonderful. The only thing I add is 1 tbsp tomato paste on the gravy. I took out the meat and leave the gravy in the pan. Add corn starch a little bit to thicken the gravy. Thanks Ron for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronazack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Outstanding! Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This Recipe was great. Thank you! We wil make this again and will add cheese to it the next time, it is almost like a bacon burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States