German Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
We used flat breakfast steaks instead of flank steak, because we're poor. It was a tiny bit tough, but I don't know if flank steak would have been better. We definitely didn't need that much onion. And we're glad we read a review that suggested making gravy - it wouldn't have been as good without gravy. But anyway - really good, and totally worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Bradley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Flavor is good but baking them is better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My family recipe is quite similar..after i brown the rouladen I make a brown gravy to simmer them in . I add pickle juice to the gravy to add more flavour and of course sour cream at the end. Then serve over spaetzle. I also make a meatball version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Yummy - we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is a good basic starter recipe. There should be salt and white pepper sprinkled on both sides of meat after pounding thin. Traditionally the meat used is beef shin, but is hard to find outside of a good butcher's. An alternative to the bacon is a chunk of smoked Gouda cheese. I sear mine in salted browned butter and cook in same pot. Add water and cook on medium heat with peppercorn and bay leaf for 2 hours. Remove peppercorn and bayleaf and add beef bouillon. Cook for 2-3 more hours on medium low. Use cornstarch and water mixture to thicken gravy after removing roulades. I serve mine with rotkohl ( red cabbage) and potato dumplings. This is how my Moms in West Berlin made them when I was growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Have make for yrs. A German lady friend/coworker made this for us as a treat and we were hooked !!I buy breakfast steaks. I use Dijon mustard , chop small the pickles, add onion , beef broth and always have noodles and mashed potatoes ready !!! Family fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Love Rouladen. This recipe is nice and simple, and the taste is really good. Thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Living in Mexico, I could not find dill pickles, so I decided to 'Mexicanize' it a bit by using pickled Jalapeno peppers (Jalapenos en escabeche). My dinner guests, who are all used to 'picante' food (i.e. spicy hot), loved it, as did I. You can control the level of spiciness by the quantity of chiles you use. Also, instead of using beef bouillon, I used beef extract, which has a richer flavor, but don't salt the meat as the extract (and bouillon) has plenty of salt already. Finally, I added 3 tablespoons of flour to the sauce to thicken it. Everybody licked their plates! I served it with 'rot col' (Braised red cabbage with apples, German style) asparagus with Hollandaise sauce, homemade spaetzle (use club soda instead of water for a light spaetzle)and homemdade German Brochen (hard rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PYandre

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
My husband doesn't like the pickle but prefers carrot instead...I make little thin slices of carrot and add them sideways so they roll easily...but I may try, as one reviewer suggested, chopping some dill pickle and adding a small amount for flavor...can't hurt, might help!! Worse that can happen is that I'll be eating them by myself before I switch back to no pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States