German Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Excellent! Of course had to change a bit with what was on hand...I used ground sausage, not bratwurst, because I'm lazy. Also added some celery seed with the fennel. Not sure if my sauerkraut was Bavarian, it's sauerkraut I get from the refrigerated section in a bag. The sauerkraut tang was there but just toned down enough that it's not all you think of. I used beef base instead of chicken. I was generous with the raisins, and they did not taste like raisins when the dish was done, just delicious so don't leave them out :) Servings are very generous. Now I am wondering what subbing some beer for the water would taste like...? Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
We all loved it the first night we had it but it didn't taste as good leftover. If I make it again I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is perfect don't change anything or you just wasted a great one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This was fun to make and so easy. I didn't have chicken soup paste so I use chicken broth and it worked just as good. I added 1/4 cup of water at the end to get the rice to perfection had to add like 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was a great comfort food recipe and made a quick, easy supper. I had some buffalo bratwurst (now there's a combo for you!), and it was great in this recipe. This makes A LOT OF rice though, so next time I will cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
i had long grain wild rice on hand but otherwise made this as written, i was happy thinking it made enough for 2 nights but my son and husband loved it so much by the next night afternoon all that was left was the dirty dishes they left in their wake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I just made this. I love the balance of the flavors. I like sauerkraut but usually find it overwhelms whatever it is eaten with. The rice mellows out the sauerkraut perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This more than satisfied my bratwurst and sauerkraut craving! This is an excellent comfort food dish, and it came together very quickly on the stove making it a great week night meal. Make sure you grab a large enough pot because this makes A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
OMG I used substitutes big time and it was still great. 1/2 a red onion and some spring onions, Berlin style instead of Bavarian style kraut, converted rice, broth instead of soup base and I had no raisins but I had dried mangos. This will be a go to recipe for potlucks for sure. I'll use the right ingredients next time. Maybe it's because I love brats and kraut but this really was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
this meal has quickly become a household favorite! I make it about once a week, and it never gets old
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States