German Puff Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I can't imagine anyone down-rating this recipe. It's fool-proof and the best thing is it has no sugar except what you put on top. I divide the default quantity between two 10-inch cast iron skillets, and it serves 4-6 people. Preheat the skillets with the butter in the oven while you mix the rest. Traditionally served with a sprinkling of lemon juice and powdered sugar, or you can make a fancy dessert by ladling on any kind of fresh fruit or fruit pie filling. It could be a dinner or brunch dish, too, if you serve it with veggies and mushrooms or creamed chicken or beef or even fish. You won't be sorry you tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is the same recipe as my German grandmother's (except with half the butter, which I do anyway)! We up the recipe by 1.5 and stick everything in the blender for extra fluff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
FANTASTIC! I switched a fresh ground multi-grain flour for the white flour. Also, I only had 5 eggs, so I used powdered egg. Last time I made it, I even used powdered milk! This is great recipe to use up my collection of different grains in my food storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.m.ryan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Made this last night for a light supper and it was wonderful. I had originally planned to serve it with fried Granny Smith apples but at last minute added smoked sasage and red sweet peppers to the apple mix plus a tablespoon of brown sugar. Forget leftovers....we ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilo
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
With sugar powder and maple syrup these were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Great, easy recipe. I like to add some fresh blueberries to the batter before baking and then top with some lemon juice and powdered sugar before eating to sweeten it up a bit. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Garrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved it! I would never put syrup on these.... I put some lemon juice and icing sugar on. They were soooo good! Just like how I remember them growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
My mom always made these for us, and I make them now for my kids. We love them! The addition of vanilla and cinnamon is a great idea, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
you can also get some fresh apples, peel, core and slice and cook them in butter till tender. Then place the apples first then batter on top in a cast iron skillet and bake. Very good. Thank you for sharing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I love this recipe, however I don't add salt and I use 5 tablespoons of butter instead. It is nice served with powdered sugar and a splash of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzypickles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States