German Puff Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Excellent addition to any breakfast. Easy to make and has an excellent texture. I made mine with whole wheat flour, and only four whole eggs and some egg whites due to a pantry shortage this morning, but it was still great! I served with some egg whites, cooked apples with cinnamon, and agave nectar. Nice breakfast made with things that you usually have in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Egg-cellent and super easy to make. It's going to disappoint if you're expecting anything like an American-style pancake. The eggs give it an entirely different texture. We had ours with some homemade mulberry syrup (with whole mulberries) mixed with regular maple syrup and with a dollop of sour cream. Amazingly decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Even though I'm German, I don't recognize this recipe but I have to say it is simple, delicious and filling. I half the recipe and bake in a small cast iron skillet right in the oven. Delicious as is or served with a light drizzle of syrup. I have also made this, sans the vanilla and cinnamon, as a vegetable pancake with sautéed mushrooms and onions. This makes much more than one serving LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirgitJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trier, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
i've made variations of this, called Dutch Pancake, Old World Pancake, etc...can do lots of things with it; it's great with apples too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I was so excited to find this recipe, I made it for my husband for fathers day and he LOVED it, the only thing he said was that it was a litte thicker than he would have liked, I think next time we will find a different pan, we used a pie pan and it was a bit thick. My girls did love to see it puff up and warming the eggs and milkl first really do make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a great dish!! I love topping mine with a thin layer of lemon curd, fresh raspberries and whip cream...or Lime curd, mandarin orange slices, whip cream and chopped almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is not like a traditional pancake. It came out smooth and creamy almost like a custard. We absolutely loved it! I served it to my family with fresh fruit and whipped cream. It's going on my holiday brunch list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by christinehogenson
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for breakfast this morning thinking we would have a ton of leftovers but it was so good that we ate it all. Next time I will use a slightly smaller pan to try for a thicker pancake. We ate ours with powdered sugar and syrup. The taste reminds me of french toast, but the texture throughout the pancake is fluffy and egg-y. I only had 5 eggs left in my fridge and that still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinehogenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My mom used to make German Pancakes for dinner all the time. I decided to make it tonight and found this recipe. It was so easy and it turned out perfect! Even my picky eaters liked it. Thank you so much for giving me back an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was delicious. I served this with homemade applesauce, 2 kinds of sausage and roasted spuds for a late breakfast and the fam dove into it with vigor! ;O) Thanks, kristifrancis, for sharing this tasty puffy pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States