German Puff Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I halved the recipe. My review may not be fair, because the only thing I measured was the flour and eggs and cooked for 15 minutes. It wasn't good. Bland and gross texture. Too much flour taste. Maple syrup was able to mask the badness but I still choked down a few bites. My 8-yr old son said "No flavor" after two bites. This recipe needs something but I'm no chef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
These were ok. I felt like the batter was missing something. By themselves they taste a little bland but with butter and syrup they were good. My husband liked the texture and we'll definitely try again with a few tweaks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Since I was eager to try the recipe, but didn't need to cook for 6, I decided to scale it down to the following: 2 eggs, 1/3 cup flour, pinch salt, sprinkle of cinnamon, 1/3 cup milk, 1 1/2 tsp Smart Balance (instead of butter) in a small cast iron skillet in my large toaster oven. I left out the vanilla. Results were great. I loved seeing the pancake puff up and toast. I ate it with a little sorghum syrup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is the first time I've baked a pancake. It was very thick and tasteless. It tasted like baked dough but without flavor until you put on the butter and syrup. We did not enjoy it enough to bake it again. However, I must say that this method sure beats standing in front of the griddle for an hour making pancakes for a family of seven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I made this according to the recipe. I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was fabulous and I made it exactly according to the recipe. Definitely 5 star worthy because it was tasty, super simple to make, used ingredients I always have on hand AND my entire family enjoyed it!! Thank you for sharing this! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Tasty but seemed like it was missing something. Also, mine took just over 30 minutes to cook fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was a huge hit with my three kids. They polished it off in no time. I used 1TB butter instead of two for a bit less fat, and a 9x13 pan because I don't have a smaller one. I baked it for 20 minutes and it was PERFECT. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I just made this today. I added 1 tsp of ground ginger and upped the cinnamon to 1 tsp also. I used Plain Soy milk also and whipped the whole thing using an electric beater. The flavor was excellent and I'll definitely make again! We used vanilla yogurt and sliced bananas on it (my twin 8 year old girls loved it). It's definitely a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was delicious. I served this with homemade applesauce, 2 kinds of sausage and roasted spuds for a late breakfast and the fam dove into it with vigor! ;O) Thanks, kristifrancis, for sharing this tasty puffy pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States