German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
I grew up eating german potato salad and this was excellent, however, I like to add more vinegar and more water as the potatoes love to soak up the liquid. Try heating up the leftovers in a skillet and you'll be in for a real taste treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
421 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This is the best recipe for Hot German Potato Salad I have found. It's absolutely delicious. I use twice as much bacon as called for and more vinegar/less water. I love the tang of the vinegar. Also, I use chopped sweet onion instead of green onions and add a little dry parsley for color. Thanks for sharing your recipe, April. I love it. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Good basic recipe. I had to change it a little bit, because when I got my green onions out, they had gone bad, so I used part of a sweet Walla-Walla onion instead, and sauteed it in the bacon grease after taking the bacon out. I also used white balsamic vinegar, which added a little more sweetness. I used 2 extra bacon slices too, but took out some of the grease. The dressing got really thick; not sure if it was supposed to or not, but it stuck to the potatoes this way which I thought was good. Since I didn't have the green onions I used about a TBS. of dried chives for color. I also used red unpeeled potatoes. Had this with grilled sausages on wheat rolls and fresh corn on the cob. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I fell in love with German Potato Salad when I was in high school and dated a guy who's mom was German. My mom and I now use this recipe. This is really more of a side dish than a salad. The vinegar gives it a nice tangy flavor. We add white, yellow or red onion rather than green. Just don't have green on hand usually. The onions and bacon give the salad a crispy texture. I much prefer this to American potato salad with the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This was quick, easy AND yummy! My husband loved it. I'll definitely put this one in my recipe box. Thanks so much for the recipe! By the way, red or Yukon gold potatoes hold their shape better than russets. And pour on the dressing while the potatoes are still warm. They'll absorb more flavoring that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2000
I made this dish with new potatoes instead of russet potatoes and it worked really well. I think next time I would add more vinegar as April suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
YUMMMMMY! I used red potatoes, and chopped them before boiling, and did not peel them. This saved a lot of time. I didn't have green onions, so I used dried minced onion, I added them with the water and vinegar to give them a chance to soften. My husband loved it as well. We are adding this one to the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVINGNOZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a good base recipe, the original recipe though adds cubed apples(2 med), pickles, onions and capers (optional). My german grandmother always made this for us and i still do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Everyone just loved this when I served it with bratwursts--it tastes just like Mom's! To cut down on the prep time, use sliced, canned potatoes, drained and rinsed. It only took me 20 minutes start to finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Barger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
I don't know what it is about warm potato salads, but they just don't do it for me. I guess growing up with the cold versions have ruined my taste for them any other way. I did like the sweet/sour combination but not enough to make this again. I definitely hope I can fine a German Potato Salad I enjoy because they have gotten lots of good reviews. Maybe one day I'll come across one that I do enjoy. Thanks anyway April.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States