German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Thought the salad was very good; however, this was my first attempt at German potato salad. I did think it needed more sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Went to Bavaria last year and could not get over the hot potato salad served in all the best restaurants there. Got a craving for it about a month ago, used this recipe and it was just as great as I remember! And on the first try! Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I have been wanting to make warm potato salad for along time. I used white vinegar because that was all I had. It was a bit strong so I added more water and sugar. I couldn't find green onions in the stores so I added parsley and chives. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
THANKS, APRIL, FOR TAKING ME BACK TO MY DEAR MIL'S HOT SALAD!!! IT'S A WONDERFUL RECIPE WITH RIBS & KRAUT. MY MIL ALSO ADDED A TOUCH OF CARAWAY & CELERY SEEDS WHICH I DO, TOO. OUR CARD & DINNER PARTY WILL BE ENJOYING THIS NEXT SUNDAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I always add green pepper and celery to mine. It gives it a better taste. I boil my potatoes the night before and let cool. Then peel and slice. After I make it, I always let it set overnight so the flavors blend together. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Delicious for fall dinner with Brats. I've never made one before but will do again. I would probably cut down on the sugar and let more the vinegar tanginess shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolasmomma
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I absolutely love this potato salad! I make it a lot with pork chops or bratwurst and sauerkraut. I use a little more vinegar, but we just like it more vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have been making German potato salad for years, and finally have found one the I truly LOVE. It is so easy to make. I used regular sweet onions because I didn't have green onions on hand. Thank you April for this wonderful recipe!! My Husband says it is like eating candy....not because it is sweet, but because he can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Twice I made this and both times I could close my eyes and taste the recipe my German immigrant gramma made so many years ago. I agree with bumping up the vinegar and bacon, and I sautee sweet white onions in the rue before adding the potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States