German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this potato salad. It is more of a side dish than a salad, but it was very good. The only complaint was that there was a little too much liquid. Definately making this again. It makes excellent leftovers. My kids were arguing over who got them. They are all under 8yrs old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Easy to follow recipe (although I let the potatoes boil a bit longer). I doubled the recipe for a church event and it was very well liked by those in attendance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This potato salad is very good. It is very similar to one that I used to get in a German restaurant. The first time I made it I followed the instructions and boiled the potatoes for just over 15 minutes. They were very undercooked; they were still crunchy, not just firm, crunchy. The next time I made it, I boiled them for a little over 25 minutes. This way they came out nice and firm but were at least cooked. Most recently I served this with Sausage 'n Kraut, also from this site for an all around German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! As close to Oma's as I'm ever going to get. My only variation on this one is that instead of using green onions, I used a sweet onion, chopped it finely, and sauteed it in the bacon fat before adding the ingredients to make the sauce. The only thing left was to lick the bowl once the salad had been ravaged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! German potato salad is supposed to be served WARM...if you are looking for a cold salad this is not it. Being warm is what makes it German potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Been making this for years but I do cube my potatoes before boiling them. While they boil I cook the dressing because I find it more tasteful to add warm dressing to hot potatoes. As another viewer said - add more liquid, potatoes will absorb the liquid and this salad has no mayonnaise so does not have to keep cold on picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I made the recipe for 9 peole then doubled the vinegar water and halved the sugar. Turned out great Made it for 9 people and it disappeared. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Easy, Yummy, Fantastc!!...My German mother even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pupgroomer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berlin Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Made this for a group of friends on a boating weekend. First night I liked it, but most others didn't... somehow the sweetness put them off. Next day I added a bit more vinegar and more salt... it was received better. Next morning I fried the leftovers in a little bacon grease until well browned and served it with eggs to RAVE reviews... Maybe I should have done that first..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Wonderful recipe. We were feeding alot of people, so we used a 5lb bag of potatoes and increased the other ingredients accordingly. Wow~~ lots of comments and lots of yums!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Old Fort, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States