German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
When following the recipe exactly, I felt this potato salad needed a bit more kick. As others have suggested, I added a splash more vinegar, but I also added a large dollop of mustard. I think mustard really helps bring out the flavor of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent. Only change was 6 slices of bacon. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We loved this recipe. I followed the instructions except that I sweated the onions in the bacon grease and then pushed them to the side of the skillet while I cooked the flour, sugar, vinegar. The next day I used a little butter(let it melt) and added the left over German potato salad. I heated about 10 minutes and then flipped the potatoes and heated another 10 minutes. I did not cover the potatoes while heating. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
EXACTLY, exactly, exactly what we were looking for! It has the perfect amount of sweet and sour in the dressing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. As all recipes, you need to adapt it to your family. I reserve the bacon fat and use what I need. I do not use the the flour it really makes no difference. I make a large batch, serve it warm the first time and cold the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good! You can't go wrong with this recipe. My only regret was not making a double recipe because we couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was delicious! I am not a fan of regular potato salad so this was perfect for me. I doubled the bacon though...a must. I also substituted the white wine vinegar for just regular white vinegar...came out awesome. Delicious the next day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
If you love German food, you'll enjoy this recipe. I double the amount of ingredients for the dressing cuz I like lots! I also use regular onions and lightly brown them in the skillet with the bacon grease. Served with weiner schnitzel, or smoked link sausage like Eckrich, or bratwurst and you'll have a traditional German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
My boyfriend always talks about how great his grandmother's german potato salad was so I found this receipe and made it for him. He was so impressed with this receipe and it was just like his grandmas. It is so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This Recipe is Outstanding cant wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States