German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
as others suggested, I doubled the recipe but I more than doubled the bacon, but kept only a 1/4 of the fat (there was too much), and increased the vinegar and instead of water i used chicken broth (about 3/4 cup). I cooked the potatoes whole and cut them hot and added all together hot. It was a hit. Next time a little less broth as it was a bit too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I really thought that this recipe was awesome! The only changes I made were to use cider vinegar and double the sauce as the potatoes soak up so much flavor. My husband loved it! It is also great the next day cold! My go to GPS recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Murley Marino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bardstown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
YUMMY AS IS!!!!!TRY IT!!!DON'T CHANGE A THING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Loved this recipe. Not too complicated, and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
Have made this twice now. Both times it was a hit. Will definitely keep this is my recipe box for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was a hit at my German Christmas Eve dinner! I added 1 cup if beef stock instead of water. I also added Bavarian sauerkraut at the end. It was very good!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
WE LOVE THIS RECIPE AS IS but the next few times I made it I added our "personal" touches. I quadrupled the recipe as I have a BIG eaten family. I used red potatoes (large and small), boiled whole with skins for approx. 15 minute (took each one out when tender) let them cool then sliced in quarters. Used 24 oz. of "Smokey" bacon (chopped in small pieces prior to frying), used 1 large chopped sweet onion (use less next time) and sautéed in bacon grease after bacon removed. Used a bit less sugar, raw apple cider vinegar (more), veggie stock/broth instead of water (more when needed), added celery seed, dry mustard, some chopped up dill pickle and juice, and added fresh parsley at the end (all for personal preference). I cook everything on stove top in a huge frying pan, fry bacon, remove, add chopped onion, and then add flour etc..... tweak as I'm making, as we LOVE LOTS OF FLAVOR!!!! The salad tastes MUCH BETTER the next day and so on! We love German Potato Salad!!!This recipe is AWESOME AS IS, tweak to your desire~ THANK YOU & Bon Appétit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious, but I felt there was some room for improvement, so I tinkered with it. Try this if you would prefer a much heavier bacon presence: use a full 12 oz. package of bacon (keep the extra grease, too!), 2 more potatoes, and 1/2 cup of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eon Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this exactly as written. Very very tasty. BF has requested this several times now!!! That speaks volumes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great potato salad, one of the best I've every had! Having certain dietary restrictions, I used stevia instead of sugar, and gluten-free all-purpose flour, and there were no issues. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States