German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
WE LOVE THIS RECIPE AS IS but the next few times I made it I added our "personal" touches. I quadrupled the recipe as I have a BIG eaten family. I used red potatoes (large and small), boiled whole with skins for approx. 15 minute (took each one out when tender) let them cool then sliced in quarters. Used 24 oz. of "Smokey" bacon (chopped in small pieces prior to frying), used 1 large chopped sweet onion (use less next time) and sautéed in bacon grease after bacon removed. Used a bit less sugar, raw apple cider vinegar (more), veggie stock/broth instead of water (more when needed), added celery seed, dry mustard, some chopped up dill pickle and juice, and added fresh parsley at the end (all for personal preference). I cook everything on stove top in a huge frying pan, fry bacon, remove, add chopped onion, and then add flour etc..... tweak as I'm making, as we LOVE LOTS OF FLAVOR!!!! The salad tastes MUCH BETTER the next day and so on! We love German Potato Salad!!!This recipe is AWESOME AS IS, tweak to your desire~ THANK YOU & Bon Appétit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious, but I felt there was some room for improvement, so I tinkered with it. Try this if you would prefer a much heavier bacon presence: use a full 12 oz. package of bacon (keep the extra grease, too!), 2 more potatoes, and 1/2 cup of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eon Coleman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this exactly as written. Very very tasty. BF has requested this several times now!!! That speaks volumes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This was a great potato salad, one of the best I've every had! Having certain dietary restrictions, I used stevia instead of sugar, and gluten-free all-purpose flour, and there were no issues. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Have had this several times and it always tastes great..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This recipe with the bit of flour sizzled in the bacon fat is exactly what I grew up with. Love it! Some shredded hard-boiled eggs and chives on top for garnish (extra protein: farm-fresh eggs!), yep, now that's heaven! Thank you for posting this honestly German recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
great. a taste memory from my youth. my addition was 1/2 cup diced celery and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Add parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Turned out good made this for a group of friends. Will need to remember to make extra vinegar sauce not quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
We are German and this was an amazing recipe it completed my German meal I did use some apple cider vinegar in place of the white wine vin and that was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States