German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
The first time I made this I made the mistake of following the advice of a lot of the reviews and added a bit more vinegar, shouldn't have done that. The amount in the recipe is just fine. Great recipe as is but the second time around I added 3 chopped eggs, 1 chopped pickle and some parsley. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Love German potato salad. My grandmother and mom always added celery seed to the recipe. And fried the onions in a little butter to help flavor up the recipe. Mmmm! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My favorite German potato recipe so far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I really liked this recipe. I made only a few changes for my taste. I tried it with one tablespoon of sugar because I like more tang than sweetness. Next time, I will omit it entirely. I used white balsamic vinegar, but I am sure it is just as good with white wine vinegar. I added some chopped celery to the green onion and cooked them in the bacon grease along with the sugar, flour, vinegar and water. That it just because I wanted them soft like the potatoes. And I also added more vinegar and water because I agree with another reviewer that the potatoes soak up a lot of liquid. And don't be shy with salt and pepper. The salt helps to enhance the bacon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
To reduce saturated fat, I removed at least half the bacon fat before cooking. After the cooked bacon was removed from the pan and crumbled, I added a quarter cup of extra light olive oil to make up for the missing bacon fat. You might want to add more, but it was fine for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I never made German Potato Salad before; this recipe was easy to follow. If you can, get a Maple bacon then you won't need sugar in this recipe. Also, you might need to add more flour, bacon fat and white wine vinegar to get the right consistency to make the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnychicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Pretty good. I had to make twice the amount of sauce called for to cover four potatoes; that was before it even soaked in. Didn't have green onions so I sauteed onion in the grease before adding sauce ingredients and added chopped fresh chives before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Pretty good! I like this this recipe doesn't need mayo like so many other potato salads do. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Super simple, loved this. sauce comes together easily, i just whisked it all together. perfect amount of sauce. doubled the recipe and didnt want it to be too sweet so only used 3 tbsp of sugar! sooo delicious!!! added dill and green onion as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States