German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I was looking for a German potato salad recipe and chose this one. So glad I did! I made this exactly as the recipe states, and it was loved by all. I will definitely make this one again. And it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
When following the recipe exactly, I felt this potato salad needed a bit more kick. As others have suggested, I added a splash more vinegar, but I also added a large dollop of mustard. I think mustard really helps bring out the flavor of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent. Only change was 6 slices of bacon. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
We loved this recipe. I followed the instructions except that I sweated the onions in the bacon grease and then pushed them to the side of the skillet while I cooked the flour, sugar, vinegar. The next day I used a little butter(let it melt) and added the left over German potato salad. I heated about 10 minutes and then flipped the potatoes and heated another 10 minutes. I did not cover the potatoes while heating. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
EXACTLY, exactly, exactly what we were looking for! It has the perfect amount of sweet and sour in the dressing. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. As all recipes, you need to adapt it to your family. I reserve the bacon fat and use what I need. I do not use the the flour it really makes no difference. I make a large batch, serve it warm the first time and cold the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very good! You can't go wrong with this recipe. My only regret was not making a double recipe because we couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This was delicious! I am not a fan of regular potato salad so this was perfect for me. I doubled the bacon though...a must. I also substituted the white wine vinegar for just regular white vinegar...came out awesome. Delicious the next day. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
If you love German food, you'll enjoy this recipe. I double the amount of ingredients for the dressing cuz I like lots! I also use regular onions and lightly brown them in the skillet with the bacon grease. Served with weiner schnitzel, or smoked link sausage like Eckrich, or bratwurst and you'll have a traditional German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
My boyfriend always talks about how great his grandmother's german potato salad was so I found this receipe and made it for him. He was so impressed with this receipe and it was just like his grandmas. It is so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States