German Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was really really good. I love good German Potato salad. I made this recipe exactly as written and it was awesome! I do think next time I will cut the sugar just a bit...I like the tang of the vinegar and it is complimented well by the sugar, but I would prefer a bit more tang and salty and a little less sweet. Just my personal preference. All in all...this potato salad ROCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This turned out great! I used precooked bacon crumbles (real bacon), and left out the flour & water. I added a couple of tablespoons of sour cream. This was better than the potato salad at my favorite German deli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Wow. I never review recipes but I had to add my 2 cents here. This recipe is *fantastic* I used red potatoes and before I made the dressing, I tossed a handful of diced Vidalia sweet onion in the hot fat for a few minutes (bc I didn't have green onions). I pulled them out with a slotted spoon and did the rest as listed. I only needed half of the dressing (for about 6 small red potatoes), so I saved the rest and am making more for lunch today bc my boyfriend and I loved it so much! This is a permanent addition to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I spent two years in Germany during my first enlistment in the army. I have tried many versions of "German" potato salad. I like this one, but of course, made it my own. I added some boiled eggs, dill pickles and a dash of the pickle juice. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF CLAY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Linville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Very good German Potato Salad - will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I loved this potato salad. It is more of a side dish than a salad, but it was very good. The only complaint was that there was a little too much liquid. Definately making this again. It makes excellent leftovers. My kids were arguing over who got them. They are all under 8yrs old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Easy to follow recipe (although I let the potatoes boil a bit longer). I doubled the recipe for a church event and it was very well liked by those in attendance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This potato salad is very good. It is very similar to one that I used to get in a German restaurant. The first time I made it I followed the instructions and boiled the potatoes for just over 15 minutes. They were very undercooked; they were still crunchy, not just firm, crunchy. The next time I made it, I boiled them for a little over 25 minutes. This way they came out nice and firm but were at least cooked. Most recently I served this with Sausage 'n Kraut, also from this site for an all around German meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Delicious! As close to Oma's as I'm ever going to get. My only variation on this one is that instead of using green onions, I used a sweet onion, chopped it finely, and sauteed it in the bacon fat before adding the ingredients to make the sauce. The only thing left was to lick the bowl once the salad had been ravaged!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe! German potato salad is supposed to be served WARM...if you are looking for a cold salad this is not it. Being warm is what makes it German potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCooks305

Displaying results 91-100 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States