German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
these are true potatoe pancakes they are great even my grand children love them they are great for any time breakfast lunch or dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Awesome! My family couldn't get enough of these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Just like grandma used to make...still the best after 68 years of eating them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Yummy! Had these for dinner tonight. Took a while to shred that much potato and I went ahead and just shredded the onion as well to save on dishes. I thought they were ok plain, but really good with a little bit of maple syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Truly delicious dish! Thanks for posting this. Made it as called for. Turned out FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I followed TDZANKL's advice and peeled and boiled the potatoes for a few minutes the night before. Other than adding more flour and salt, I followed this recipe and they came out beautifully. I found it yielded quite a few more latkes than the recipe states, but they all got eaten regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I changed a little bit. I used red potatoes (that's what I had on hand). I added garlic powder and used extra onion, extra salt & pepper, and about a tablespoon of extra flour. That having been said, AWESOME!!!! Soooo yummy. :) My hubby loved them even more than me. I did use paper towels to absorb some of the water from the potatoes before adding to the recipe. I let the batter sit for awhile before I cooked it, which meant there was more water that drained out of the potatoes. I just poured it out, but when I make them again, I'll just plan to make the batter right before I am ready to fry them. Also, I cooked them WAY more than 3 minutes a side, but I like things VERY crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
OMG, these are just like my Polish mother made when I was a little girl. The story is that my great uncle Louis ate 18 of them at one sitting. I believe it. These are delicious. Made them per the recipe, but didn't really measure anything. Used peanut oil to fry them - marvelous!! Ate them with cottage cheese or sour cream. These are like a cross between hashbrown potatoes and latkas. So much flavor when beautifully browned. I questioned your timing - but used a timer and found 3 minutes on each side was really good, but turned the heat up a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
delicious! i remember these from my childhood in Germany and had been looking for a good recipe to make these for a while... this fits the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent...used grated onion though. For a delicious sauce to serve on the side, mix equal parts of plain Greek yogurt and apple butter or cinnamon apple sauce......YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkersville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States