German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were just wonderful. It may not be in keeping with the recipe, but I sprinkled each with some garlic salt while they were cooking - delicious! This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
My family really likes these but next time I will dry the shredded potato before mixing it in because there was a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This Latke deserves its rating as the #1 Potato Pancake, and we tried many. You can also make it gluten free by substituting potato starch for the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great! I did a half batch. I pressed the potatoes dry and they came out excellent. Very tasty and versatile. Breakfast lunch or dinner, they'll make a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Excellent! These are perfect side dish potato pancakes. The little shards of potato along the sides, getting all crisped up... MMM! I make these with pork roast and applesauce, and my husband thinks I am a goddess. What more can you ask for from a recipe, really? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
We liked it. Soaked the shredded potato in cold salt water & avoided the oxidation issue. After draining well, we even blotted with a clean dish towel. Only chnage we will make next time is omit the onion & use a bit smaller pan so the oil can come up on the sides of the pancake more. Perhaps add a pinch of cayenne. Will need to add more oil after a batch or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Delicious and authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Super easy and delicious! I didn't bother with draining the potatoes or anything, except to press them with a paper towel right after shredding. Served with some sour cream. Would be delicious with some fresh parsley mixed in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Great recipe! My wife and I am tired of eating the same thing over and over so we decide to give this a shot. We are from northeastern PA originally and have always enjoy potato pancakes at church bazaars and picnics. We are thrilled to say this recipe COMPLETELY met our expectations! Thank you so much and we will start working this meal into our cycle of dinners! They turned out great and really appreciate that someone took the time to post this! Thank you! Brian and Melissa from SC....originally from the Wyoming Valley in Pennsylvania
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
the taste of these are awesome! I dont think I let my potatoes dry enough becuase they werent as crispy as i wanted but I would definitely make this again and reccomend to a friend...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 483) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States