German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
WOW!!! thank you for a great recipe! I have never made this before and they taste just like my 1st gen. German/American mom use to make:-) I did make sure all water was squeeze out, and chopped onions very fine. I used canola oil in non stick frying pan, just enough to coat the bottom, well ah prob. a little more and got the pan really hot and dropped small balls in the hot pan and gently patted it down w a fork. I like them pretty thin, so all on how you like them! Enjoy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My husband says these are the BEST potato pancakes he's ever eaten, and we live in Milwaukee where almost every restaurant and pub serves fish fries with potato pancakes every Friday. I used yellow flesh Yukon Gold potatoes, which don't darken. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
AWESOME!!!! MY BROTHER AND HIS WIFE LOVED IT!!! I made potato skins earlier in the week and used the insides for this! SUPER YUMMY!!! DO IT!!!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very good!! Taste exactly like the ones my grandmother made when I was a kid. Very very yummy!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy2Bx2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Oh my gosh!!!!! Theese are by far the best kind of pancakes i have EVER tasted in my LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!! I soaked the potatoes in cold water to stop oxidation. And it worked!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
oh my these pancakes were delicious!! Love that you add flour to make them stick and crispy :) thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I've always wanted to make these and this recipe was wonderful. Just like my favorite restaurant serves. The batter was very wet and I continually drained excess water during the process but that didn't affect the quality. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
loved them. I added garlic powder to them also and they turned out perfect. They went great along side sauerkraut and sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
delish! I did forget to put onion in mine but they turned out great otherwise! I made them as a side to sasage and saurkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is delicious and worth the effort (especially when you have a husband to peel and grate). I served it with pork chops and applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States