German Potato Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
this was a basis to go by.. and ill give it that. but otherwise, this is tasteless and bland.. will look elsewhere for something like this. but not here. this might be good in a country where taste means absolutely nothing, and this might be germany, but this was not good! im german too. lol. pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitneyriot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Very good, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cara.davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I grew up in northern Germany and potato pancakes were one of my favorite foods. These turned out great! I followed others advice and doubled the flour and salt. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steffanie Stamos
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very good! Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffanie Stamos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
these are yummy i made them for my parents for breakfast and my dad loved them he visited Germany when he was in the army and he said they taste just how he remembers they do if not better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These were amazing and reminded me of my grandmas. Don't worry about the color change from the oxidation it doesn't affect the flavor. I do highly recommend removing as much moisture as possible though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Love potato pancakes. I use left over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
WOW!!! thank you for a great recipe! I have never made this before and they taste just like my 1st gen. German/American mom use to make:-) I did make sure all water was squeeze out, and chopped onions very fine. I used canola oil in non stick frying pan, just enough to coat the bottom, well ah prob. a little more and got the pan really hot and dropped small balls in the hot pan and gently patted it down w a fork. I like them pretty thin, so all on how you like them! Enjoy:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
My husband says these are the BEST potato pancakes he's ever eaten, and we live in Milwaukee where almost every restaurant and pub serves fish fries with potato pancakes every Friday. I used yellow flesh Yukon Gold potatoes, which don't darken. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
AWESOME!!!! MY BROTHER AND HIS WIFE LOVED IT!!! I made potato skins earlier in the week and used the insides for this! SUPER YUMMY!!! DO IT!!!!! -La Vonne R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 471) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States