German Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Awesome recipe. The mayo added a little zing to the soup. I would recommend a little hot sauce so spice it up a little further. Try popped popcorn on top instead of crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weldon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Very rich! Good but rich. Would be great with bacon in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Very Very good...made it for my family. The kids say I am cook from heaven....Oh little do they know. Perfect, added some bacon...was splendid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The taste of this soup is very good with the vegetable combination. I like the idea of thickening the soup with instant potato flakes. But cheddar is not an ideal melting cheese in soup, it clumps making the soup unappealing..and the greasy yellow layer on the surface of the soup. I will make this again but use only the loaf cheese, cube up a 2lb box. Leave out the swiss and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Ive had to make this one often, its so good! EASY TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
We got snowed in today and this made a HUGE pot of soup that we were able to share with our neighbors. I replaced the celery (because I am not a fan) with broccoli and the swiss cheese with shredded asiago. I added about 12 oz of velveeta cheese, because I felt it needed to be a little thicker and I definitely needed to add salt. I also added some turkey bacon for a little flair. Dee-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HogFan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! I find that it tastes better with only two tablespoons of fat free mayo and broccoli added. Everytime I've made it this way people have raved! Thanks for this GREAT treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Very tasty. More like a cheesy chowder. A good cold weather dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I havent tried this recipe yet but to reply to the reviewer from middle bavaria, I also live in middle bavaria (regensburg) and I was about to make the same comment about callling a recipe german that calls for swiss cheese, but you beat me to it. However the point of my comment is this, if you are looking for cheddar go to the closest kaufland and head for the cheese counter- it does exist here, it just takes going to a giant discount supermarket to find it (I've never found it in netto but ours is small, and a bigger aldi might have it too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I could really taste the mayonnaise in this, so much so I thought it took away from the other flavors (and I doubled the velveeta cheese). I think you could get away with 1/2 the mayonnaise, or maybe even leaving it out. Thanks for the recipe, William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States