German Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A harty and good meal but the mayonnaise overwhelms the flavor. I added bacon to it which I think was a good addition. The next time I make this I will not use the mayo. I think you can go without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This soup was very good, we enjoyed it a lot! Some people said they had problems with the cheddar cheese melting, but I think that if you just melt it on low it shouldn't clump or leave a greasy layer, none of those problems for us anyway. Loved that the soup had tons of veggies in it, and the mayo gave it a nice little kick. We will be making this again definitely! If you're looking for a slightly different soup that feeds a crowd, this one is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made this with broth from a ham bone (instead of the chicken broth) left over from Christmas! It was a hit with my picky husband however I did not have potato flakes to thicken the soup so I blended ( a lil to much) the cooked potatoes. If you opt to do this only blend 1/3 of the potatoes. I also added a pinch of red pepper flakes to spice it up. Yum Yum...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
There is nothing German about this soup except that maybe it was made by someone that is of german descendant. If you must, call it American/European Cheezy Potato Soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
FANTASTIC!! made a few modifications to suit my fridge contents, omitted velveeta, swiss cheese and potato flakes; and added in chopped zucchini and portabello mushroom, 2tbsp of white pasta sauce and a little Mrs.Dash. Soup ended up amazing. If left on a very low heat, it thickened up perfectly fine for thickness. Husband who typically prefers heavily spiced foods found this to be delicious and worthy of rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Awesome soup! I used 1 tablespoon of mayo, and the flavor turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Yummy. I followed the recipe but replaced the red pepper and cut up carrots with a 1# bag of cole slaw mix, it is delicious. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
It's too salty and tastes like nacho cheese. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States