German Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I was looking for a potato cheese soup recipe that I could use here where I live-- in Germany-- because cheddar cheese is almost nonexistant here. I live in middle Bavaria and none of the shops around here have it, not even the cheese shops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! I find that it tastes better with only two tablespoons of fat free mayo and broccoli added. Everytime I've made it this way people have raved! Thanks for this GREAT treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I havent tried this recipe yet but to reply to the reviewer from middle bavaria, I also live in middle bavaria (regensburg) and I was about to make the same comment about callling a recipe german that calls for swiss cheese, but you beat me to it. However the point of my comment is this, if you are looking for cheddar go to the closest kaufland and head for the cheese counter- it does exist here, it just takes going to a giant discount supermarket to find it (I've never found it in netto but ours is small, and a bigger aldi might have it too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
Delicious soup and worth the time of cutting up the vegetables!!! We will definetly keep this one on our menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
There is nothing German about this soup except that maybe it was made by someone that is of german descendant. If you must, call it American/European Cheezy Potato Soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ingrid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
The taste of this soup is very good with the vegetable combination. I like the idea of thickening the soup with instant potato flakes. But cheddar is not an ideal melting cheese in soup, it clumps making the soup unappealing..and the greasy yellow layer on the surface of the soup. I will make this again but use only the loaf cheese, cube up a 2lb box. Leave out the swiss and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
We got snowed in today and this made a HUGE pot of soup that we were able to share with our neighbors. I replaced the celery (because I am not a fan) with broccoli and the swiss cheese with shredded asiago. I added about 12 oz of velveeta cheese, because I felt it needed to be a little thicker and I definitely needed to add salt. I also added some turkey bacon for a little flair. Dee-lish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This had great flavor and everything cooked evenly. Didn't need the potato flakes for thickening, the cheese did that on it's own. This is not a 5 star for a couple of reasons. First off b/c of all the cheese, chicken broth (low sodium at that), and mayonnaise, this was nearly too salty. Second, for our tastes it was way too rich. I think next time I will half the Velveeta and add low fat milk instead. Also, we topped it off with about a T of bacon, did not use any of the grease. It was very pretty with the carrots and red bell peppers and the celery was a nice touch. All in all a great winter time, stick to your bones soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Loved this soup! I cut my veggies up the night before so I wouldn't have to do much prep work the next day. After reading other reviews I decided to use 1/2 the mayo and It turned out wonderful! 5 Stars from the family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States