German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was so tasty (and easy)! The caraway seeds make a big impact. I modified a bit by adding canned apple pie filling with 1 fresh cut up apple to keep the chops more moist. My family loved it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
My husband loved this! And it was super easy. I ended up making a half recipe because for 2 people 8 chops is a ton of food. This will become a staple for us. We also like to use a little more kraut than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I loved this dish! I am not a cook, but I try, and this was so easy. The only difference I made was not using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a great easy , good, recipe ... I add a dash of salt and pepper, a few pats of butter on top, and throw in a few whole cloves .. it just gives it a little more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family found this dish to be delicious! A few minor changes -- I halved the recipe (but still used a full apple, actually about an apple and a half), used pure maple syrup instead of brown sugar, one 14 oz can of sauerkraut, and only used 1 tsp of caraway seeds. Oh my - so good! The sauce is wonderful. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this almost exactly as written but I only had two pork chops which I put on top of the sauerkraut mixture in a slow cooker after browning them. I was somewhat concerned about the amount of onion, caraway seed, and brown sugar, but I wanted to make it as written the first time around. I used a mandolin to cut the onion and apple into shreds so it would more closely resemble the sauerkraut and avoid large chunks of either. Made some mashed potatoes to go with it. I was surprised to find that after cooking just on the edge of boiling for about 4 hours, the caraway flavor did not overpower the dish, nor did it taste like onion. While it was not overly sweet to my taste, I might cut back on the brown sugar next time to get a little more "sour". But the sauerkraut when eaten together with the mashed potatoes was awesome. Don't know what it is about that combination but it always hits a home run, as does corn and mashed potatoes eaten together. Anyway, I will be making this again... thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I'm not the biggest sauerkraut fan....but being from central pa, i had to give this a try to bring in the new year. I liked that it was easy and could bake in the oven. I did not use the brown sugar. After browning the chops, I deglazed the pan with white wine and poured this over the chops, also added salt/pepper/garlic powder to chops while browning...will make again this way (but only on new years!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this! Followed other reviews and cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup. Used a jar of Claussen's sauerkraut(32 oz)mostly drained of liquid, and cut back to 1 tsp of carraway seeds. Left out the apples. Made for New Years dinner with black eyed peas. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Tried this recipe for the 1st time tonight. Made according to directions, except for the amount of sugar. As we don't like sauerkraut too sweet, we reduced brown sugar to about 1/4cp. This was definately unique...Unsure if I will make this again. It wasn't bad, just not really to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States