German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Mswatsox
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Only recipe with sauerkraut my husband will eat:-). I also add enough apple cider so that it starts to top other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We love this recipe. I used 3 pork chops and a whole bag of kraut. I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and next time I'm going to try 1/8 cup. You can always add more but you can't take it away if it's too sweet. This would be awesome in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This is one very tasty dish. Definitely a keeper for company. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khenry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was so tasty (and easy)! The caraway seeds make a big impact. I modified a bit by adding canned apple pie filling with 1 fresh cut up apple to keep the chops more moist. My family loved it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
My husband loved this! And it was super easy. I ended up making a half recipe because for 2 people 8 chops is a ton of food. This will become a staple for us. We also like to use a little more kraut than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Peterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I loved this dish! I am not a cook, but I try, and this was so easy. The only difference I made was not using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This is a great easy , good, recipe ... I add a dash of salt and pepper, a few pats of butter on top, and throw in a few whole cloves .. it just gives it a little more flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
My family found this dish to be delicious! A few minor changes -- I halved the recipe (but still used a full apple, actually about an apple and a half), used pure maple syrup instead of brown sugar, one 14 oz can of sauerkraut, and only used 1 tsp of caraway seeds. Oh my - so good! The sauce is wonderful. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this almost exactly as written but I only had two pork chops which I put on top of the sauerkraut mixture in a slow cooker after browning them. I was somewhat concerned about the amount of onion, caraway seed, and brown sugar, but I wanted to make it as written the first time around. I used a mandolin to cut the onion and apple into shreds so it would more closely resemble the sauerkraut and avoid large chunks of either. Made some mashed potatoes to go with it. I was surprised to find that after cooking just on the edge of boiling for about 4 hours, the caraway flavor did not overpower the dish, nor did it taste like onion. While it was not overly sweet to my taste, I might cut back on the brown sugar next time to get a little more "sour". But the sauerkraut when eaten together with the mashed potatoes was awesome. Don't know what it is about that combination but it always hits a home run, as does corn and mashed potatoes eaten together. Anyway, I will be making this again... thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States