German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kari BO'B
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Great, easy recipe. Pork is very tender and the kraut has good flavor. Used 2 tablespoons of brown sugar since we had sweetness from the apple. Added a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari BO'B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Absolutely delicious! My favorite of all baked pork chop recipes, with a few modifications: I'm not a fan of caraway seeds, so I didn't use them. I love brown sugar, but substituted coconut sugar since it has a lower glycemic index compared to regular sugar. I used a sweet onion. The sauerkraut I used was a traditional Old World recipe that contained no sugar, vinegar or preservatives. It came in a refrigerated glass jar. My husband raved over this dish. He said "You couldn't get a pork chop this good in a five star restaurant!" I've tried many pork chop recipes over the years and this surpasses them all. This will now be my "go to" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
needed some more seasoning on chops kraut was missing something, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Superb recipe! The only change I made (since I did not have any apples available) was to add a 16oz jar of Motts Cinnamon Apple Sauce to the dish while cooking as a substitute for the fresh apples. It was an incredible dish with our dinner guests begging for more! I will be making this recipe more often,it was a HUGE success! Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have to give this 5 stars because of the rave reviews everyone gave it. I followed the recipe in terms of ingredients, though I only had 5 chops instead of 8. I did not change the serving size for the other ingredients and am glad I didn't. The sauerkraut and apple made a great side and went well with the leftover mashed potatoes we had in the fridge. I did not follow the cooking instructions just because of schedule. I seasoned the chops with salt and pepper and then browned them just long enough to get a good sear. Then I put them in the crock pot, threw the sauerkraut mixture on top and cooked on low for 4 hours. It turned out great and was so easy so it was definitely worth the investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Lenahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Photo by KDH
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I used red cabbage instead of kraut, no sugar; didn't have an apple. That's why I gave 4 stars, because I didn't follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this recipe but due to family dietary restrictions (my husband is diabetic) I made some changes. I cut the recipe in half because I hate to be stuck with food we don't like. I used 4 cups of homemade sauerkraut no seeds, 1/2 an apple, no onion (I am allergic) and after I browned the chops I deglazed the pan with a couple of tablespoons of hard apple cider. Then I put the meat back into the pot, covered it with the kraut mix and baked it for about an hour. My family loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I used a green apple, and put in about half the amount of sugar. Went light on the caraway seeds, as there is already caraway in the family sauerkraut recipe. Delicious! This meal disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Growing up in Germany, it's hard to find authentic recipes I can make that are written in English. This one did it! I left out the carraway seeds because I'm just not a fan of carraway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States