German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Made this almost exactly as written but I only had two pork chops which I put on top of the sauerkraut mixture in a slow cooker after browning them. I was somewhat concerned about the amount of onion, caraway seed, and brown sugar, but I wanted to make it as written the first time around. I used a mandolin to cut the onion and apple into shreds so it would more closely resemble the sauerkraut and avoid large chunks of either. Made some mashed potatoes to go with it. I was surprised to find that after cooking just on the edge of boiling for about 4 hours, the caraway flavor did not overpower the dish, nor did it taste like onion. While it was not overly sweet to my taste, I might cut back on the brown sugar next time to get a little more "sour". But the sauerkraut when eaten together with the mashed potatoes was awesome. Don't know what it is about that combination but it always hits a home run, as does corn and mashed potatoes eaten together. Anyway, I will be making this again... thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I'm not the biggest sauerkraut fan....but being from central pa, i had to give this a try to bring in the new year. I liked that it was easy and could bake in the oven. I did not use the brown sugar. After browning the chops, I deglazed the pan with white wine and poured this over the chops, also added salt/pepper/garlic powder to chops while browning...will make again this way (but only on new years!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caiden's mommy
Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this! Followed other reviews and cut back the sugar to 1/4 cup. Used a jar of Claussen's sauerkraut(32 oz)mostly drained of liquid, and cut back to 1 tsp of carraway seeds. Left out the apples. Made for New Years dinner with black eyed peas. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Tried this recipe for the 1st time tonight. Made according to directions, except for the amount of sugar. As we don't like sauerkraut too sweet, we reduced brown sugar to about 1/4cp. This was definately unique...Unsure if I will make this again. It wasn't bad, just not really to our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
perfect exactly as designed. I didn't make any adjustments. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
very easy to make. I cut down brown sugar to 1/4 cup but still too sweat to our tastes. I think depneds on the type of apple? (I used golden delicious).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kunimi Togashi Ehresmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I was put on the spot to do something with the center cut loin pork chops for Sunday dinner. Found this recipe and hit the ball out of the park! I omitted the caraway seeds and no one noticed. Easy to make, and a delicious alternative to the usual pork chops on the plate in brown gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was a delicious recipe!! I seasoned my chops with black and white pepper, garlic powder and kosher salt and then pan seared them and placed in slow cooker. I reduced the brown sugar to make it healthier to about 1/4c and it was still sweet enough. I suppose you can even omit and sub applesauce. Thus the reason for only four stars. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a good recipe if you like these ingredients. My family did not enjoy this probably due to the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My husband, whose parents are from Germany, said this was a very authentic recipe and absolutely loved it. I cut the recipe in half to make 5 smaller, center cut chops. Served with spaetzle and sauteed spinach. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States