German Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
My husband could not stop raving about this. It was fabulous. I did cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 of a cup but still giving this 5 stars. I served it with mashed potatoes and some green beans with leftover Easter ham in them. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I had this scheduled to make last night and since I was busy my husband made it for us. He made it following the directions exactly - except for only using a 15 oz. can of sauerkraut. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was delicious!! I didn't use caraway seed as DH doesn't like them, but otherwise followed the recipe to the dot except for adding more brown sugar to the sauerkraut. I love sauerkraut with added brown sugar and it is the only way my hubby will eat it. The addition of the apple was great. I'll be doing that from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Halved it and skipped the caraway, DELISH!! Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy Bresina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Blech. My porkies were dry and the mixture of sauer with the apple and onion just didn't work. All I tasted was sauer. I took someone's advice and didn't add all the brown sugar. That might have helped had I used more, I guess. BUT the recipe doesn't specify how big a porkie. Mine were pretty thick and I browned them against my better judgment. I think if had just thrown it all in the oven, my pork would have been perfect. I only cooked them for 40 min. too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This was a very good recipe. Easy to prepare and good flavor. I drained and rinsed the kraut and only used 3/4 cup of brown sugar.The caraway seed and apple really gave it a good flavor. Will make it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
OMG MOST DELICIOUS chops I have ever made. That was my husband's comment after his first bite. It was so good, that he told me he was taking it to lunch with him the next day. He just got home from work and told me that he was bringing another chop with him the next day for lunch. I hardly ever comment, but since my husband just told me he is going to eat it again the next day for lunch, convienced me to write a review. He said he loved the sauerkraut and I said, good thing I followed the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, he told me when i make this next week, TO USE THICK BONED IN PORK CHOPS AND TO FOLLOW THE RECIPE EXACTLY AND USE THE CUP OF SUGAR... This has to be the best chops and thanks so much for sharing this awesome recipe. I would give it 10 stars if I could I did add a few adjustments, before searing the chops I coated them with salt fresh black pepper, onion powder and after removing the chops I deglazed the pan with 1/2 cup of red wine and poured it over the chops before adding the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was good but my husband says it isn't like his family used to make. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mswatsox
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Only recipe with sauerkraut my husband will eat:-). I also add enough apple cider so that it starts to top other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We love this recipe. I used 3 pork chops and a whole bag of kraut. I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and next time I'm going to try 1/8 cup. You can always add more but you can't take it away if it's too sweet. This would be awesome in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States