German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Elaine Parks
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a great basic recipe to make and to play with. I substituted almond milk for the 2% milk (Hubbie is lactose intolerant.) And added a teaspoon of buttermilk powder to the egg/milk mixture. I think it would be very easy to make "sweet" by adding vanilla or even another type of extract like raspberry. I will do that and add my findings to this review. I am even thinking about a chocolate version cuz everything is better with chocolate! I topped it with powdered sugar as soon as it was out of the oven so it would kind of melt on the pancake. I also lined my pan with parchment paper which made it come out of the pan with no problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Parks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
i loved this recipe!!!! i changed the serving size down to 4 and followed the recipe. I did change it however by adding a 3 tablespoons of sugar,1 teaspoon of vanilla extract, and 1 tablespoon of melted butter. i also put all the ingredients in a blender instead of mixing it by hand in a bowl. The key point is to make sure that all ingredients are at room temperature and to use a cast iron pan. ( make sure you heat the pan in the oven while your prepping the batter) i sprinkled powdered sugar, served with stawberries and chocolate syrup. everyone loved it! i would definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
it was amazing!!! I put powdered sugar on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I serve this with a generous sprinkle of powdered sugar and lemon wedges for a special breakfast. Slice some strawberries on the side, and add a few blackberries or blueberries. Very pretty! We have some individual cast iron skillets, which work great and are fun to use when we have guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llorienna
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I love this simple and delicious recipe. I used Becel instead of butter and a 9x13 glass baking dish because that's what we have at home. It grows pretty high, but retracts a bit while cooling. I think syrup is plenty sweet so adding more sugar and spices is not my preference. The contrast between the buttery pancake with a texture similar to a Yorkshire pudding and the sweet maple syrup is delicious. I even ate it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I've been making this for a few years, but this recipe is easier than what I have been using. I did melt the butter in a large oven-proof skillet before adding the batter & I allowed it to cook on the stove top 1 min before putting it in the oven. Also cut back to 4 eggs and added 1/4c sugar, some cinnamon, & nutmeg. Squeeze a fresh lemon over the top & sprinkle with powdered sugar. So easy & so DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Reminds me of popovers only easier to make. Followed the directions exactly except for pan size, I followed another reviewer and used a 9X13in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
The first time I had these was at Village Inn Rest. here in Tampa, Fl., I had them with apples inside. The server would fold them at the table. I have made them at home but at 450 degrees and using a medium skillet heated in the oven until very hot. Really love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Coleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
For those of you that it didn't work for, try these few tips. Bake at well pre-heated 400 for 20 minutes instead. Melt 5 tbs of butter in 9x13 pan (I place butter in pan in oven while I blend the rest), and make sure ingredients are well blended in blender. Hope it helps, for some reason this site changed some of my original temps and measurements. BRENNASPITZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This is one of the easiest breakfasts I've ever fixed. 5 minutes of prep (a little measuring and a quick whisk) and you have plenty of time to get started on your day without having to constantly stir or flip or tend to this simple meal. I added a spoon full of sugar to the batter and cut this in half. I used a pyrex pie plate and made this in a toaster oven. Sprinkled with lemon juice and some powdered sugar and it was a wonderful treat! I've tried German pancakes several times in the past and they never turned out well and this is the first time I actually had it puff up just right and taste good too! Thanks Brenna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States