German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this recipe for it's simplicity and visual presentation. Recently I cut this recipe into a single serving and baked in a ramekin. Although not as thin as when baked in a larger pan, the taste was just the same and it was still visually appealing. I am now thinking that even when making for more guests, that I will make individual servings baked in ramekins, dusted with powdered sugar and topped with either a warm apple compote or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I added 1/8 tsp Vanilla and 1/4 tsp cinnamon also. All the cinnamon rose to the top and made a beautiful crust. We topped with Maple Syrup and it is very similar to an eggy french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerdempsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! My husband loves it too! These German pancakes are delicious. I substitute 1/2 cup spelt flour for 1/2 of the all-purpose flour (1/2 spelt flour + 1/2 cup white all-purpose flour). The spelt flour gives it a nutty flavor. I dust with powdered sugar when it is finished baking and serve with pure maple syrup. It makes a FANTASTIC breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
When I followed this exact recipe, I ended up with a very dense pancake. Wasn't at all like the german pancakes I use to eat. But with a bit of tweaking, it's turning out great. And I don't know if it's implied that you split this recipe, but even by reducing some of the ingredients, I end up making 4 1 cup mixture pancakes. Here's what I do : 3 eggs, 3/4 cup flour, 1 cup milk, dash of salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 2 tablespoons sugar. Melt the butter in a cast iron skillet in the over (about 3-4mins) then bake a 1 cup portion of the mixture for 11-13mins at 400 degrees. So good base recipe, but definitely suggesting adding vanilla extract at minimum. If husband like cinnamon/nutmeg, I'd probably be putting that in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very satisfying. I used buttermilk and served with chopped tomatoes mixed with Gewurztraminer mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Very yummy and versatile. I made it for fathers day brekky this morning and everything loved it. For four people who don't eat much I halved the recipe and we just managed to polish it off. Before baking I dusted ours with cinnamon, nutmeg and a little jaggery (proper brown sugar). We topped it with some extra butter, sliced banana, a little cream, rasberries and a tiny bit of maple syrup. Just delicious. Without such additions I think this'd work very well with savoury toppings such as wilted spinach, mushrooms, cracked black pepper and a nice hard cheese grated on top. That's what I'll be trying next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My family makes this recipe all thr time! But we bake it at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. So it bakes a lot faster. We also eat it with powdered sugar. It is a great way to start out the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Made this just as the recipe directed before rating and reviewing (always rate and review before suggesting changes) As directed this is a fantastic recipe. LOVED it. I will tweak it to my family tastes by adding bacon or such. BUT as is the recipe is simply divine and easy to make. My teenage boys want to make this they saw how easy it was for me to make it. THank you for posting a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
It's pretty good. We've used this recipe a few times, and we'll continue to use it. However, we do add 2 tbps of sugar, some cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. That helps it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWPRINCESS7284
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I make these quite often and they are fantastic! We squeeze fresh lemon on them and then sprinkle powdered sugar before enjoying. It's a light breakfast with lots of protein that fills you up and keeps you going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States