German Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
So good. I did add 4 TBS sugar and tbs Vanilla. And cooked it in a 9x13 pan (it would overflow a smaller one). Served it with a simple homemade strawberry syrup, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
would be a five if add 3 Tsp of sugar, 1tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla for cooking I cooked at 400F for 20min. next time I will put pan in oven for preheat and then poor mixture in when oven ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was great. Cut the recipe in 1/2 and reduced the butter to 2 Tbsp and baked it in a cast iron skillet. Served it with powdered sugar and grape jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love this recipe for it's simplicity and visual presentation. Recently I cut this recipe into a single serving and baked in a ramekin. Although not as thin as when baked in a larger pan, the taste was just the same and it was still visually appealing. I am now thinking that even when making for more guests, that I will make individual servings baked in ramekins, dusted with powdered sugar and topped with either a warm apple compote or maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I added 1/8 tsp Vanilla and 1/4 tsp cinnamon also. All the cinnamon rose to the top and made a beautiful crust. We topped with Maple Syrup and it is very similar to an eggy french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summerdempsey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I LOVE this recipe! My husband loves it too! These German pancakes are delicious. I substitute 1/2 cup spelt flour for 1/2 of the all-purpose flour (1/2 spelt flour + 1/2 cup white all-purpose flour). The spelt flour gives it a nutty flavor. I dust with powdered sugar when it is finished baking and serve with pure maple syrup. It makes a FANTASTIC breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
When I followed this exact recipe, I ended up with a very dense pancake. Wasn't at all like the german pancakes I use to eat. But with a bit of tweaking, it's turning out great. And I don't know if it's implied that you split this recipe, but even by reducing some of the ingredients, I end up making 4 1 cup mixture pancakes. Here's what I do : 3 eggs, 3/4 cup flour, 1 cup milk, dash of salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 2 tablespoons sugar. Melt the butter in a cast iron skillet in the over (about 3-4mins) then bake a 1 cup portion of the mixture for 11-13mins at 400 degrees. So good base recipe, but definitely suggesting adding vanilla extract at minimum. If husband like cinnamon/nutmeg, I'd probably be putting that in there as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very satisfying. I used buttermilk and served with chopped tomatoes mixed with Gewurztraminer mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Very yummy and versatile. I made it for fathers day brekky this morning and everything loved it. For four people who don't eat much I halved the recipe and we just managed to polish it off. Before baking I dusted ours with cinnamon, nutmeg and a little jaggery (proper brown sugar). We topped it with some extra butter, sliced banana, a little cream, rasberries and a tiny bit of maple syrup. Just delicious. Without such additions I think this'd work very well with savoury toppings such as wilted spinach, mushrooms, cracked black pepper and a nice hard cheese grated on top. That's what I'll be trying next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
My family makes this recipe all thr time! But we bake it at 425 degrees for 15 minutes. So it bakes a lot faster. We also eat it with powdered sugar. It is a great way to start out the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Potato Pancakes

See how to make real German-style potato pancakes.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States